Author Topic: Software to decode SAME alerts over WU weather radio streams? Possible?  (Read 5276 times)

Offline LetterX

Let me first say that I'm very new to weather monitoring, WU, this forum, etc., so please excuse my ignorance if it comes across that way.

While researching weather radios with SAME technology, I stumbled upon the Weather Undergound NWS radio streams.  It occurred to me how useful it would be if there were a software player for these streams that could decode SAME alerts.  For example, if there were an external popup player that you could program with SAME codes.  Or a third-party software player, or a winamp plugin, or something like that.  I don't know much about the technical aspects of SAME, and I'm not a programmer, so I don't know if this is even possible, but I think it would make the WU weather radio streams immensely more useful for a great many people/organizations.  Anyone with a net connection could be alerted to the localized weather issues of their choosing directly from the NWS streams, just like a weather radio with SAME.  Opinions?

Offline mackbig

• Forecaster
    • Mackie's Main Street, Unionville, ON Canada Weather
Possible, maybe. Probable, doubt it.  So many players, browsers etc, if you forced someone to get the applet that has been developed to pop with the streamer might not get many takers.  Also dont even know if the digital burst that turns on your all hazards radio's warning system could be decodedby the pc processing the stream.

However you could immediately implement a variation of what you are thinking.  Just embed the normal Noaa streamer on a web page that loads the an advisory script, one of Ken's (Saratoga WX) advisory scripts ( or his EC forecast script for Canada which includes watches and warning )  If you did that the visitor would see warnings for the area as they start the stream.  You could have it refresh in case a warning happened while they were online.