Author Topic: I'm designing a new air quality monitor!  (Read 2801 times)

Offline yan

• personal website
I'm designing a new air quality monitor!
« on: June 26, 2018, 02:44:08 PM »
Hey all,

My name is Yan, I am a mechanical engineer, and I am new to the Wxforum.

I have been working on an open-source air quality monitor for the Baltimore Open Air Project https://github.com/baltimoreopenair, a community based air quality monitoring network. I am now working on a new device to make air quality monitoring less expensive and more available for everyone.

I would like your help to decide which features are most important, for example, measured species, connectivity, and access to the data.

Right now our stations measure PM, T/Rh, Ozone, Nitrogen Dioxide, Hydrogen Sulfide and Sulfur Dioxide. I have put together a website https://forcasters.landinglion.com/mistralbytroposphere/ that shows the specs and design of our new station and optionally allows you to reserve an early customizable outdoor station as well as our new indoor model.

Please put your suggestions in the comments, It will be a big help to us in our ongoing design efforts.

Happy Air Forecasting!

Yan

Offline Bushman

• Forecaster
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: I'm designing a new air quality monitor!
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2018, 04:19:54 PM »
Looks awesome, but  over $600 USD with an indoor unit?  Ouch.
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline yan

• personal website
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2018, 09:31:54 PM »

Hey Bushman, I hear you. This is mainly due to the fact that good gas sensors are fairly expensive and that for small production devices, the cost of FCC or CE certification is very high. I am also making most of the production in the US to be able to calibrate each device.