Author Topic: 100% newbie  (Read 1634 times)

Offline Dgriffith29

100% newbie
« on: March 28, 2017, 05:19:20 PM »
Good afternoon everyone. I am looking to purchase my first ever personal weather station. im completely new to every bit of this and looking for some insight. so far the one that has caught my eye is the Ambient Weather WS-1001-WiFi for around $300.00 just wish it also had lightning detection as well. Is there a better system in the price area? i live in Humble, Tx just North East of Houston, Tx and about 2 miles from IAH Bush Intercontinental Airport i planned on mounting it at the highest point of my 1 story home which would be on the chimney. i am open to any and all suggestions you may have for me as this is all new to me.

Offline Imageek2

Re: 100% newbie
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2017, 05:58:04 PM »
I am new as well. I was looking at the Ambient WS-1001 when I saw the LaCrosse 330-2315. It doesn't have the following that the Davis, Ambient, or Acurite stations have, but so far I am happy with mine. You can read my review of it under the LaCrosse section here. You can also see the data it puts out by clicking on my Weather Underground link below.

Offline 44085weather

• 44085weather.com
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2017, 05:59:15 PM »
I would suggest figuring out what you want to do with the data first and go from there if you want to share it online or if you just want to know for yourself.

Offline Dgriffith29

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2017, 06:01:35 PM »
I would suggest figuring out what you want to do with the data first and go from there if you want to share it online or if you just want to know for yourself.

i would like the be able to view this online as well

Offline alanb

• Forecaster
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2017, 06:12:51 PM »