Author Topic: Need advice on weather stations, I am just starting out  (Read 7143 times)

Offline funns

Need advice on weather stations, I am just starting out
« on: July 31, 2007, 01:39:05 PM »
I am currently looking to start having a weather station on my jobsites because of how much the weather impacts my productivity and even what I do on certain days.  I need to find a weather station to keep track of rain and weather conditions i.e. cloudy, sunny.  Cost is a concern for right now, maybe later upgrading after it proves it worth to the bean counters in the company.  Just trying to find advice to get into having my own for more accurate readings than using someone else's station.  Thanks in advance.

Offline capeweather

• Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
    • http://www.capeweather.com

Chris
Cape Coral, Florida

Offline jaded

• http://home.comcast.net/~jadeters/Weather.htm
Re: Need advice on weather stations, I am just starting out
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2007, 11:28:23 PM »
The answer really depends on how you want to use it.  Do you want to view the data remotely, or are you OK with driving to the site and looking at statistics, such as yesterday's numbers?  

Various sensors might mean different things to you.  Do you need to know rainfall, as in "how much" and "how long ago"?  Do you need to know wind speed and/or direction?  Do you need to know how much sunlight?  Are you ultimately looking to determine soil moisture?  Or do you just need to know if it's above freezing?

If cost is the overriding factor, I'd suggest starting simple by using http://www.weather.gov .  It's the National Weather Service's official site, they have the most accurate forecast information available, and it's free.  They have radar loops available as well as rainfall maps so you can see exactly what's happened at each location, and you can view either by zip code or latitude / longitude coordinates.