Author Topic: StartWatch & WeatherLink issues  (Read 3233 times)

Offline W3DRM

• Forecaster
    • Emmett Weather
StartWatch & WeatherLink issues
« on: February 19, 2014, 09:16:19 PM »
I've been running StartWatch for many years and until I switched from WinXP to Win7 Pro. Now, I have two problems that I have not been able to resolve and it is driving me nuts.
  • With WinXP, StartWatch automatically started on a reboot or cold start. However, with Win7, I have to manually start StartWatch every time I reboot.
  • StartWatch is configured to automatically place Weather Link into Bulletin mode. Worked  fine on WinXP but not Win7.

I tried a Task Scheduler job that automatically starts StartWatch on computer startup but it gives me a status message saying there was a manual intervention needed to complete the task. So, it never starts.

Is anyone else auto-starting StartWatch in a Win7 Pro environment and experiencing the same issues?

I am using StartWatch to control VVP, VPLive, VWS, Image Salsa and WeatherLink. Except for the WL Bulletin mode problem StartWatch works just fine once everything is up and running.
Don - W3DRM - Emmett, Idaho --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KBOI7
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37s150,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam (off-line)
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline piconut

• Juggler Extraordinaire
  • Forecaster
    • South Austin Weather
Re: StartWatch & WeatherLink issues
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2014, 12:29:56 AM »
I'm running StartWatch on Win 7 Pro but it is starting up on it's own.  I noticed that under StartWatch options it says that the "Run StartWatch when this user logs in" also states that "this setting is always user specific".    My weather computer is a Dell laptop and the system always starts up as the administrator user, but I log into it using remote desktop as another user.