Author Topic: Baro jump prior to downpour  (Read 3581 times)

Offline aweatherguy

• Senior Contributor
    • Weather Station Data Logger
Baro jump prior to downpour
« on: December 13, 2009, 02:17:56 AM »
I've been using a new barometer for a few months now. It has high resolution (better than 0.004 inHg) and I get readings every minute. It is installed inside the house -- no fancy static port or anything so it will have some error in high winds (like 50MPH or more).

I am beginning to see a pattern where the pressure rises very quickly just prior to the sudden onset of heavy rainfall. For example, one time there was an increase of 0.030 inHg in 3 minutes (0.6 inHg/hr) prior to a sudden downpour which had an initial rain rate of 4.9 in/hr. Another time there was an increase of 0.023 inHg in 5 minutes (0.276 inHg/hr) prior to a rain rate of 1.7 in/hr. In both cases the pressure increase ended just a minute or two before the rain began. None of these events were preceded by winds high enough to cause significant errors due to the barometer installation.

I'm guessing that others have been here before. My best guess at an explanation is the pressure rise is somehow related to the downdraft associated with the rainshaft. Does anyone know what's happening here?

blackjack52

Re: Baro jump prior to downpour
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2009, 03:45:42 PM »
Sounds like the accompanying front w/ the storms.

Offline DanS

• Chiang Mai weather
  • Forecaster
    • ThaiWx
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2009, 04:19:09 PM »
Sounds like the accompanying front w/ the storms.