Author Topic: Two Possible Limitations On Global Warming  (Read 1253 times)

Offline bmchan

Two Possible Limitations On Global Warming
« on: August 20, 2016, 12:26:59 PM »
I think the idea that global ice melting is increasing the global water supply puts two limitations on Global Warming. First of all the fact that the water is very cold when it melts may possibly put a short term slowdown of Global Warming because it would take a while for that water to warm up. I also would like to argue that since humid air warms at a slower rate than dry air that that would slow down or even turn global warming into a scenario where the heat index would be more of a factor than the actual temperature as the added water moistens up the air. I am not an expert on climate as I don't have a degree in the subject or consequently a job in the field and those are two simple arguments but maybe they are worth discussing.

Offline Jáchym

• Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Two Possible Limitations On Global Warming
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2016, 12:33:17 PM »
I am not sure about this, but this is just my way of thinking about this.

Remember that only 2.1% of all Earth´s water is stored in glaciers, now when we say there was a record in how much ice melted it is true, but in relative terms, it would be just a tiny percentage of that 2.1%, so overall, we are talking with mostly negligible amount. It is like if you had a huge sing of relatively warm water and you came with a pippette and dropped one very cold droplet inside it. Yes it would cool down, but...

Offline WXman

• Stormdawg
  • Senior Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2016, 09:47:40 AM »
Well, the mere fact that the world population is growing exponentially would lead you to expect a slight increase in temperature (we're all walking 98°F ovens) and then in addition to that more people equals more heat generated due to living activity.  So a small increase in temp. would be expected.