Author Topic: Looking at a Davis 6152  (Read 1622 times)

Offline DJFaninTN

Looking at a Davis 6152
« on: July 21, 2017, 06:26:53 PM »
Total newbie here with zero experience. I have been looking at a PWS for a while and have decided I wanted to go with a Davis Vantage Pro 2. The ole saying you get what you pay for is a lesson I have learned over the years and it appears that is the case here.

Here is what I am wanting out of my PWS. Temps, Rain Fall, Humidity, Wind. We live about a mile from the Gulf of Mexico so we have that coastal breeze here. The yard is fairly open so placement is not going to be a big deal.

The model I am looking at is the 6152. I had considered the 6153 (comes with FARS) but after emailing Ryan over at Scaled Instruments he was saying since we have that coastal breeze that the 6153 may be overkill here and could produce temps that might not be accurate.

Here is my million dollar ? What are the Davis Sensor Suites like 6322, 6323, 6327 & 6328? From what I am gathering is it is more like an all in one uint where you cannot separate the components if you wanted. Is that correct?

Last ?. I do have a PC sitting in the office but rarely use it. 99% of what I do is on a MacBook Pro Laptop from Apple and go wireless throughout the house. I just like things that work so that is why I went Apple years ago. Since that PC is sitting there in the office, I guess the best thing to do is to hook directly into the PC via the console. Since we have fiber optic here at the house would it be better to use the 6555 Weatherlink Ethernet or just go with the 6510USB Weatherlink USB Port?  I am not exactly sure I understand what the 6555 does.

Besides posting to WU I am not sure where else I would post my info once up and running.

Thanks for the help.

Offline Mattk

• Forecaster
Re: Looking at a Davis 6152
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2017, 06:41:53 PM »