Author Topic: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?  (Read 479 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline eric799

  • Signature
  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • East Cobb Weather
Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« on: November 21, 2017, 08:44:47 AM »
Am I just missing it, or is it not possible? I don't have a soil sensor, but I DO want to provide that info on my website. Is there a way to pull Soil temp and moisture data from a nearby Metar or some other source in Weather Display?

Thanks!
Eric
Eric
Marietta, GA
East Cobb Weather
http://www.ericboettner.com/weather


Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6690
    • Eagle Bay Weather

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3692
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2017, 10:19:57 AM »
By zooming in this map http://www.greencastonline.com/tools/soil-temperature gives a pretty good view, and as Bushman says the data is not in the METAR www.komokaweather.com/metar/metar_display.php.

Enjoy,
Paul

Offline eric799

  • Signature
  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • East Cobb Weather
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2017, 10:40:41 AM »
Well that stinks. Oh well, I kind of figured that. Thanks!
Eric
Marietta, GA
East Cobb Weather
http://www.ericboettner.com/weather


Online ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4164
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2017, 10:51:36 AM »
Mesonet stations have 4" depth bare soil temperatures. Don't think any NOAA stations do.
Problem is Mesonet have their own network and not even included with Mesowest I've always found odd because they are professional high quality stations.
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6690
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2017, 11:44:53 AM »
Ground conditions can be had from NOTAMS.  Things like inches of snow, water, etc.

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3109
    • Conditions @ CW2274
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2017, 02:54:08 PM »
Ground conditions can be had from NOTAMS.  Things like inches of snow, water, etc.
NOTAMS (Notice to Airmen), are for telling flight crews of anomalies or outages for the complete phase of flight, from chock to chock, i.e. closed runways and/or taxiways, NAVAID outages, construction near runways, ect.
Davis Wireless VP2 SHT31 24hr 67CFM FARS
RW Tipper w/ CoCoRaHS

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6690
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2017, 05:20:33 PM »
Sure - and snow on the ground, water pooling etc.  Use them all the time.

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3109
    • Conditions @ CW2274
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2017, 05:38:15 PM »
Sure - and snow on the ground, water pooling etc.  Use them all the time.
Yeah, but that's a SNOWTAM.... ;)  Actually, never heard of it before... :?
Davis Wireless VP2 SHT31 24hr 67CFM FARS
RW Tipper w/ CoCoRaHS

Offline floodcaster

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
    • Goose Lake Weather
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2017, 06:11:01 PM »
Am I just missing it, or is it not possible? I don't have a soil sensor, but I DO want to provide that info on my website. Is there a way to pull Soil temp and moisture data from a nearby Metar or some other source in Weather Display?

Thanks!
Eric

Sorry, not exactly what you are  looking for but I see there is a nice mesonet in GA whose sites record soil temp/moisture.
http://www.georgiaweather.net
Bill


Online ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4164
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2017, 07:02:31 PM »
I provide soil temps for visitors on my website, a little crude however. I try to update couple times month at around 7AM.  https://www.valentinenebraska.net/soil.php
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline eric799

  • Signature
  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • East Cobb Weather
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2017, 02:43:07 PM »
Am I just missing it, or is it not possible? I don't have a soil sensor, but I DO want to provide that info on my website. Is there a way to pull Soil temp and moisture data from a nearby Metar or some other source in Weather Display?

Thanks!
Eric

Sorry, not exactly what you are  looking for but I see there is a nice mesonet in GA whose sites record soil temp/moisture.
http://www.georgiaweather.net


You rock, thanks!
Eric
Marietta, GA
East Cobb Weather
http://www.ericboettner.com/weather


Offline eric799

  • Signature
  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • East Cobb Weather
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2017, 02:43:40 PM »
I provide soil temps for visitors on my website, a little crude however. I try to update couple times month at around 7AM.  https://www.valentinenebraska.net/soil.php

Valentine Weather - is that a manual update? or do you have a script to do it?
Eric
Marietta, GA
East Cobb Weather
http://www.ericboettner.com/weather


Offline tbrasel

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
    • Northwest Arkansas Weather.com
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2017, 03:18:46 PM »
It's not a metar, however wxsim can be used to extract soil information.
Best Regards
tbrasel

Bentonville Arkansas, USA
Hardware: Davis 6153 - Wireless Vantage Pro2 with FARS
Software: VWS V15.00
Website: https://www.nwarwx.com

Online ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4164
Re: Soil Temps from Metar? Is it possible?
« Reply #14 on: December 08, 2017, 06:13:46 PM »
I provide soil temps for visitors on my website, a little crude however. I try to update couple times month at around 7AM.  https://www.valentinenebraska.net/soil.php

Valentine Weather - is that a manual update? or do you have a script to do it?

Sorry no script and why I only update couple times each month.
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike