Author Topic: "Could Not Open Communication Port" At Startup (up to 6-8 times)  (Read 3635 times)

Offline MonsonWx

"Could Not Open Communication Port" At Startup (up to 6-8 times)
« on: September 03, 2010, 03:53:32 PM »
Hi everyone. I've been using VWS for about 6 years now with my VP (1). For maybe a year (or two) I've been having this extremely irritating problem. When I start my computer, VWS is set to open at startup. Most of the time (but not every time), VWS loads at startup and I get "COULD NOT OPEN COMMUNICATION PORT." I close VWS, reopen, same error, close, reopen, same error, and so on. Ususally it takes maybe 4-8 closing and reopening to get it to load up. Honestly, I've tried just about everything. I've switched to COM 2 from 1, I've tried to change COM settings in VWS. I just downloaded 14.01p32, but I've had this error since probably 13.xx versions. Has anyone had this issue before? Have you found any fixes? As you can imagine, this close/open sequence is extremely irritating at 7 in the morning.

Thanks!
Chris

Offline DaculaWeather

• WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
    • North Georgia Weather
Re: "Could Not Open Communication Port" At Startup (up to 6-8 times)
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2010, 04:28:20 PM »
I have that problem using StartWatch so the cause might be different, but yes, very irritating and I haven't figured that out either.

Offline Impala88

• Senior Contributor
    • IrvineWx
Re: "Could Not Open Communication Port" At Startup (up to 6-8 times)
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2010, 12:27:12 AM »