Author Topic: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100  (Read 5112 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7549
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #25 on: November 29, 2016, 06:14:32 PM »
Like I said - show the code.  WD will overwrite the iFrame; then how do you get the iFrame to overwrite the WD code??  PLus it has to be smart enough to know when the Mac is not sending WD HTML.
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8605
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #26 on: November 29, 2016, 06:27:06 PM »
Like I said - show the code.  WD will overwrite the iFrame; then how do you get the iFrame to overwrite the WD code??  PLus it has to be smart enough to know when the Mac is not sending WD HTML.

You can simply specify some time at which the pages would switch cant you?

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7549
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #27 on: November 29, 2016, 06:51:32 PM »
Of course you can.  Fairly easily.  But who knows if the Mac will get turned off at that specific time?   I guess if nothing else at least the Rainwise page (stanadlone) will be active 24/7
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7549
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #28 on: November 29, 2016, 06:53:38 PM »
Coding Alert!  :)

Here's the way to automate this: (checks to see if the IP of the Mac is active.  Still needs code to choose WD or iFrame as the weather source)

function Pinger_ping(ip, callback) {

  if(!this.inUse) {

    this.inUse = true;
    this.callback = callback
    this.ip = ip;

    var _that = this;

    this.img = new Image();

    this.img.onload = function() {_that.good();};
    this.img.onerror = function() {_that.good();};

    this.start = new Date().getTime();
    this.img.src = "http://" + ip;
    this.timer = setTimeout(function() { _that.bad();}, 1500);

  }
}
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1072
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #29 on: November 29, 2016, 06:54:41 PM »
Quote
WD will overwrite the iFrame;
no it wont if you that I frame code is part of the WD web page (i.e using a custom template web page etc)
the actual posters web site is a WDL web site
so WD is not overriding the html web page anyway
« Last Edit: November 29, 2016, 06:57:05 PM by waiukuweather »

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7549
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #30 on: November 29, 2016, 06:59:59 PM »
I'd like to see this in action.  The iFrame will ALWAYS be active (since it embeds the always-on wx from Rainwise) so how do you simultaneously disply  the WD info?  Or does it go stale while the iFrame is Active?
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1072
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #31 on: November 29, 2016, 09:13:32 PM »
why does it need to go to stale/stop updating?
you will obviously have 2 different data feeds on the same page
the rainwise IP data (in an iframe) and the WDL data
during the night (when not many people are looking at the weather data anyway, while the Mac is off), WDL will not be up to date..I can't see it as being being a  big deal
or
you could have WD upload a html file that is the web page (i.e index.html) at around the time the Mac is running that just has WDL
and then upload another html file (e.g using the general FTP upload) that shows the data from Rainwise via a iframe, for night time use, before the Mac is turned off for the night

it does not need to be any more complicated than that for this temporary situation

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7549
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #32 on: November 29, 2016, 09:42:25 PM »
I guess... but having two sets of data that may or may not be the same is kinda weird in my books.
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8605
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #33 on: November 29, 2016, 09:54:15 PM »
Temporary situation

Offline kljw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #34 on: November 30, 2016, 04:17:59 AM »
All
I have been following the debate with great interest. just to confirm a few things....
1. the IP-100 will be used to send data all of the time to the Rainwise Net Page.
2. I will no longer send data to any web page from WD, it will be Dione from the IP-100.
3. All I need, is to be able to show the Rainwise Net Data in my Web Page, so when it opened, it there.

you have all provided a great deal of information, and it is appreciated, I just wish I had your level of knowledge with regard this subject.

Keith

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7549
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #35 on: November 30, 2016, 11:38:57 AM »
Then the iframe is the perfect solution for you.  Apologies for going off track....   but it might help someone else down the road.
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline kljw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Rainwise MK 3 & IP-100
« Reply #36 on: November 30, 2016, 02:36:42 PM »
Bushman
lots of great info provided, and has proven to be a learning curve. when I finally get my logger, and its up and running, I may call on you for some assistance in setting up an iFrame.

keith

 

anything