Author Topic: WeatherLink Problem with Browse Window  (Read 2635 times)

Offline George Richardson

• WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
    • Smith Mountain Lake Weather
WeatherLink Problem with Browse Window
« on: December 18, 2016, 12:20:34 PM »
Hello,
I hope someone has had, solved, and will share the solution to the following problem. I have been running WeatherLink for over 10 years. Within the past week, when I open the Browse window, the only data shown is the date and time.
Well, there are more problems. When I try to open the strip charts, I get an "encountered a problem and must close" message.
The rain database seems OK, and the Weather Bulletin seem OK.
Thoughts, Ideas?
TIA
George

Offline Bushman

• Forecaster
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: WeatherLink Problem with Browse Window
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2016, 12:30:42 PM »
Make  a backup copy then run disk diagnostics (CHKDSK etc.)  When I ran WL I used to find errors that caused WL to hiccup.  Usually creating a new station nd copying over the previous  data files did the trick.  YMMV
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline dalecoy

• Forecaster
    • Lee's Summit, MO
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2016, 12:45:09 PM »
Look at the names and dates on the .wlk files.  Make backup copies, and delete ones that look strange - especially the most recent one (December 2016 name). 

Let us know if this and Busshman's instructions don't fix the problem. 

Online johnd

• Forecaster
    • www.weatherstations.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2016, 01:30:28 PM »
Try this first:

Close the Weatherlink program;

Locate the files DataLists.dat and DataSets.dat within the WL station subfolder using the Windows file manager such as My Computer;