Author Topic: KWO35 Out Of Service  (Read 3581 times)

Offline stevenpomp

KWO35 Out Of Service
« on: December 08, 2016, 04:09:24 AM »
My local NWR transmitter in NY, KWO35 has been out of service for a few days now. Their web site http://www.nws.noaa.gov/nwr/outages/outages.php confirms the outage. Just wondering if this happens regularly & for how long. Since I am relatively new to monitoring this station on a daily basis since purchasing a few weather alert radios it is a bummer none of the radios work now. Channel 7 162.550 is the only channel I receive at my location.
Thanks for any input.
Steve

Offline vreihen

• El Niņo chaser
  • Forecaster
  • K2BIG
Re: KWO35 Out Of Service
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2016, 05:05:59 AM »
I saw the alert from NWS a few days ago, and was shocked that KWO35 was back on the air for regular broadcasts!

For those you don't know the story, the National Weather Service's NOAA radio transmitter in the nation's most populated city was taken off the air back in 2014, due to interference it was causing to the Coast Guard's communications system on the primary marine VHF calling channel 16 through a common antenna that they shared at Rockefeller Center.  The National Weather Service shut the transmitter down to prevent further interference, and only powered it up for weather emergencies and interference testing.  At one point, they were testing it at low power...but it was still causing interference.

Wow!  It looks like they made a lot of changes that I did not hear about:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KWO35

Anyway, this should give you a good idea about the operating reliability and historical outages for one of the nation's most important NOAA radio transmitters.....
WU Gold Stars for everyone! :lol:

Offline stevenpomp

« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2016, 05:46:04 AM »