Author Topic: Compromised Webcams?  (Read 978 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6996
    • Eagle Bay Weather

Offline hankster

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 479
    • NFM Weather
Re: Compromised Webcams?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2017, 10:33:11 PM »
Nothing new. This is what caused the outage in 2016 and has been going on for a number of years. I no longer open ports to my cameras.

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5368
Re: Compromised Webcams?
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2017, 06:05:56 AM »
I had something weird going on with my Hikvisions.
 
What was going on after installing my snow camera it kept factory resetting every 30 hours or so. Almost like the reset button was stuck in on camera. So I put a different camera in also new and it did the same thing. So decided must be cable or power supply so changed both out.
Didn't help kept going back to factory rest. I did everything like changing IP address, password, Cat5 cable and even power supply but nothing helped.  #-o
So decided to add another camera ( older spare I had) and not make the snow camera my last camera installed, now this camera was doing the same factory reset just like before.  #-o

I started thinking maybe I'm hacked so turned off UPnP and updated my Windows patches and it stopped.
It's been 4 days now without any reset.  I've scanned for virus/trojans with multiple programs including the premium version of Malwarebytes and can't find anything.   
Randy

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5368
Re: Compromised Webcams?
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2017, 12:50:31 PM »
Well tried Kaspersky and found the Trojan. I went ahead and purchased the internet security version I found on Amazon single computer $18 for 1 year. It includes webcam security. 

Good idea not to have UPnP turned on with router. If infected this gives easy access. Lesson learned and apparently the free antivirus Pandy is bad and premium Malwarebytes failed also.  ](*,)
Randy

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6996
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Compromised Webcams?
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2017, 01:24:23 PM »
Which Trojan?

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6996
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Compromised Webcams?
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2017, 01:26:02 PM »
BTW, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware is not meant to be a replacement for antivirus software.

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5368
Re: Compromised Webcams?
« Reply #6 on: October 26, 2017, 03:15:46 PM »
Its HEUR:Trojan.Script.Generic log says couldn't delete so I trying something in meantime.
Randy

Offline hankster

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 479
    • NFM Weather
Re: Compromised Webcams?
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2017, 05:27:22 PM »
Clear your Chrome cache and scan again.

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5368
Re: Compromised Webcams?
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2017, 06:39:47 PM »
Clear your Chrome cache and scan again.

Thanks,
Thats what I was doing it didn't show up this scan. Takes about 3 hours to do a full scan.
Randy

 

anything