Author Topic: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer  (Read 1306 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Aardvark

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1941
  • www.desmoinesweather.org
    • Des Moines Iowa Weather and Climate
Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« on: September 16, 2017, 12:39:37 PM »
let me put this in.  I have been fighting a losing battle with the Foscam line for a while trying to use their camera and FTP upload to send images to Weatherunderground. the  non numberical FTP , ftp://webcam.weatherunderground.com   just doesn't work with their cameras. I get it finally.

So what I want to know what cameras do allow  directly from the camera, to the modem and to their site?  Definitely Foscam isn't the answer here.

Anyone have ideas,   I don't want to spend a fortune.  Probably I am going to put the camera in the house behind glass, turn of the IR and go that route. Our house has but one outside outlet, on the wrong side of the house no less and the wife is not happy about running cable  for power.  So I have to deal with that.

Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Sierra; Bloomsky 2 ;https://www.weatherlink.com/embeddablePage/show/9939a1e2095347408d139366964b63ba/signature

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6792
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2017, 01:16:11 PM »
Huh?  My Foscam will upload to a non-numerical IP with ease.  You have the right port? (21 IIRC)  and right URL?  You need an ending "/"


Online ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4511
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2017, 01:24:08 PM »
Could be issues with WU over last couple weeks due to server change over I'm guessing plays into it. Many complaints about images not showing up but today it's working again for me.

FTP should work the same for all cameras as long as image size is within specs accepted.
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline Aardvark

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1941
  • www.desmoinesweather.org
    • Des Moines Iowa Weather and Climate
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2017, 02:23:14 PM »
Huh?  My Foscam will upload to a non-numerical IP with ease.  You have the right port? (21 IIRC)  and right URL?  You need an ending "/"
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Sierra; Bloomsky 2 ;https://www.weatherlink.com/embeddablePage/show/9939a1e2095347408d139366964b63ba/signature

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6792
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2017, 03:07:35 PM »
Is your webcam image < 150K?  Are you using BINARY as the image transport?

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6792
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2017, 03:16:42 PM »
webcam.wunderground.com resolves to 3 IP addresses - 54.148.11.142, 52.37.52.183, 52.36.136.128.  None of which are ultimately reachable right now.  Traceroute shows the same.  Never makes it there.

Offline Aardvark

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1941
  • www.desmoinesweather.org
    • Des Moines Iowa Weather and Climate
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2017, 07:11:04 PM »
I am using the routine that comes with the camera.   I get ftp server error when I test the thing. I have been over the settings, user name password, port I have gone between passive and not.  The test only determines if there is connectivity between that camera and the  weather underground server.

« Last Edit: September 16, 2017, 07:13:32 PM by Aardvark »
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Sierra; Bloomsky 2 ;https://www.weatherlink.com/embeddablePage/show/9939a1e2095347408d139366964b63ba/signature

Offline Aardvark

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1941
  • www.desmoinesweather.org
    • Des Moines Iowa Weather and Climate
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2017, 07:28:24 PM »
Eg.  http://www.johndball.com/connecting-foscam-fi9901ep-to-wunderground/

I fiddled a bit after these links, first of all not using the attacked keypad, but using the number keys on the key board.  Not sure why, but it had a big difference, although the letters on the screen and numbers are identical.

right now it works.   I know Foscam isn't the best out there by far, but it is what I am using right now.  If I knew that arlo.com would work, i'd ditch all the foscams I had and go with them,  they have a battery powered outdoor unit whichis magnetic and water proof. I would love to use that, but the thing transmits to a receiver and that then goes via wifi or cable to their servers and so far no ip address to latch on to that produces and image.  So we continue the hunt.
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Sierra; Bloomsky 2 ;https://www.weatherlink.com/embeddablePage/show/9939a1e2095347408d139366964b63ba/signature

Offline Phil23

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
    • Phil's Backyard
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2017, 05:39:47 PM »
Huh?  My Foscam will upload to a non-numerical IP with ease.  You have the right port? (21 IIRC)  and right URL?  You need an ending "/"

This sounds exactly like a DNS issue.

I'd try configuring the camera with a static IP address, including setting the Gateway address, (Your Routers IP), and also make sure you have a valid IP address in the DNS server field.

This could also be your routers address, but I'd suggest using one of Google's DNS servers.
Primary one is 8.8.8.8 & if you have an option for a second one uses 8.8.4.4.

Cheers.

Offline DaculaWeather

  • It's a Jeep thing... you wouldn't understand.
  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3138
  • SCCA EM #156
    • North Georgia and US Weather
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2017, 09:51:57 AM »
Guys... you can save yourself lots of headaches by using software like https://iptimelapse.com/

This is great software and I use it to manage all 4 of my webcams. I have the software set to upload two images from each camera once a minute, one thumbnail and one full size image. At the end of the day, it makes 4 time lapse videos, one for each camera.

All the webcam images you see on my site are uploaded using IPTimelapse. For WU, I then point it to the image on the website, that way I don't do any image uploads to WU, they come and get them.

The newest version also allows you to do a live YouTube stream if your YouTube account is setup for that.

If you aren't using this software... I think you are REALLY missing out. Just sayin' :-)

http://www.daculaweather.com/4_camera2_static.php

Offline KeaWeather

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • http://www.kea.metsite.com
    • Kea chennai weather
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #11 on: November 11, 2017, 09:43:15 PM »
Guys... you can save yourself lots of headaches by using software like https://iptimelapse.com/

This is great software and I use it to manage all 4 of my webcams. I have the software set to upload two images from each camera once a minute, one thumbnail and one full size image. At the end of the day, it makes 4 time lapse videos, one for each camera.

All the webcam images you see on my site are uploaded using IPTimelapse. For WU, I then point it to the image on the website, that way I don't do any image uploads to WU, they come and get them.

The newest version also allows you to do a live YouTube stream if your YouTube account is setup for that.

If you aren't using this software... I think you are REALLY missing out. Just sayin' :-)

http://www.daculaweather.com/4_camera2_static.php


Can you let me know how to set this up? I have downloaded it and it says image capture failed for my foscam camera. I have entered the internal ip address, port and password. Am I missing something here?

Offline DaculaWeather

  • It's a Jeep thing... you wouldn't understand.
  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3138
  • SCCA EM #156
    • North Georgia and US Weather
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2017, 07:43:15 AM »
In my Sharx camera setup for the primary stream, I can see all the different links for the various image and stream types. The one you would want to chose is the one that gives you a snapshot image like mine here. Your address links will be different from these but you get the idea. Your camera most likely has a "specific" link for a jpg snapshot, and that's what you want to use in IPTimelapse.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
« Last Edit: November 12, 2017, 07:46:31 AM by DaculaWeather »

Offline hankster

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 476
    • NFM Weather
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #13 on: November 12, 2017, 10:09:28 AM »
Find your camera here to get the URL needed

https://www.ispyconnect.com/sources.aspx

Offline johndball

  • Mineral, VA Weather
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • johndball-dot-com
Re: Cams that will send directly to site bypass computer
« Reply #14 on: November 22, 2017, 06:45:02 AM »
Bushman, thanks for linking to my guide.
Aardvark, WUnderground has discontinued service for their webcam functionality as of mid-December 2017. I've had problems with their FTP service since day one and now I attribute that to their intention of shutting down the service months ago (but only announcing it until recently).

I decided to host my own webcam image on my website. It's fairly easy. The gist: take an FTP uploaded image, rename it, move it to an internet-accessible URL, and delete the folder the camera makes.
The Linux script for this can be found here: https://www.johndball.com/a-rough-bash-script-for-moving-an-image-changing-ownership-and-deleting-the-directory/
Slightly more detail and a link to the uploaded images can be found here: https://www.johndball.com/the-mineral-virginia-weather-camera-is-back/

 

anything