Author Topic: Can I extend the anemometer cable to a Fine Offfset 1080/3080 clone?  (Read 1321 times)

Offline dave_in_gva

Hello,

Complete newbie here but have learned a good deal on this great website over the last week or so.

I live in a townhouse in Switzerland and am considering various options for a PWS. I do not have ideal siting opportunities for a sensor array. Although I am considering either an HP1003 (a Fine Offset clone with an all in one sensor) I'm also considering a 1080 or 3080 clone where the sensors are supposedly separable.

I am wondering how separable the sensors are on a 1080 or 3080 clone. Specifically, I would like to know if I can splice in 30 m or so of cable to get the anemometer up on my roof while siting the rest of the array in a better location.

If it is possible to add such length to the cable, I'd appreciate advice on what type of cable I should use and whether I should be splicing the new cable into the middle (i.e avoiding the terminations and simply reconnecting wires then sealing with heat shrink tubing) or removing the existing terminations at one or both ends.

I've never seen the cabling on these units and the user manual doesn't provide much detail. Would appreciate the views of people with hands on experience with these units or who have done this.

Best,

Dave M

Offline Jáchym

• Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Can I extend the anemometer cable to a Fine Offfset 1080/3080 clone?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2016, 05:09:48 AM »
Hi Dave,