Author Topic: More mobile than remote, Vehicle Mounted Data Collection/Logging Weather Station  (Read 5535 times)

Offline LiamHail

Background: I am a college student studying meteorology in the NY great lakes region. I have two minors, one in broadcast and one in computer science (which I am just starting this upcoming semester, unfortunately). I am looking to do personal data collection of lake effect events while completing pre-recorded broadcasts for the campus news station or for my own personal page.

The current plan is to build a removable mount for my vehicle on which a Davis Vantage Vue ISS due to its compact and all in one size. Moreover what I am looking to ask what is the ideal set up to be able to broadcast live data from the field to a personal domain while also logging the data. The options I have researched are using a Weather Bridge or Weather Bridge Pro, or a Raspberry Pi set up, with a 3g/4g connection. My main thought would be to use Cumulus due to its relative ease of use with websites and templates. In addition, I would be foregoing the Davis Dataloggers for a Belfryboy or a Uksa data logger.

Are there different options available for the data to go through and be broadcast, and through what software? And what recommendations are there for 3g/4g mobile hot spots?

Offline ValentineWeather

• Forecaster
    • Valentine Nebraska's Real-Time Weather
I would use a laptop with Cumulus and broadcast directly to website with some kind of mobile hotspot. The Saratoga scripts using ajax would work with cumulus and provide near realtime data. Or you could skip the personal website and go directly to WU using Cumulus and use there rapidfire for realtime.  Either option will work just finding reliable bandwidth will be the bigger challenge while mobile.
Randy

Offline LiamHail