Author Topic: My map registered position and APRS position disagree  (Read 2280 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« on: August 19, 2016, 12:42:20 PM »
Duh, I can't seem to get this right.

My registered position  is correct.  N 33.09  W97.31

But my APRS position is exactly on the other side of the world, in China!
I guess the APRS uses the decimal position, which for Texas is a negative number for longitude?
WHERE do I change it so that the two agree?
I have VWS from a Davis Vantage Vue.

Thanks for any help.

Offline miraculon

  • Sunrise Side Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2909
  • KE8DAF
    • Sunrise Side Weather in Rogers City MI USA
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2016, 01:54:38 PM »
What is your CWOP or APRS ID?
You should be able to review the position here: http://weather.gladstonefamily.net/site/C0000
Of course, replacing my C0000 with your own ID.

Note the following on the page:
Quote
If the displayed location (or elevation) of the weather observing location is incorrect, please drag the marker to the right location (or click in the right location), and then send the updated information. Please note that we are trying to spot either the Stevenson Screen (or equivalent) or the location where the barometric readings are taken.

I have the same ID as when I lived in SE Lower Michigan, when I moved they corrected the location for me.

A west longitude will need the negative prefix. I believe that they want it to four decimal places. (not /m/s)

Greg H.




Blitzortung Stations 668, 706 - CWOP CW4114 -  CoCoRaHS MI-PI-1

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3115
    • Conditions @ CW2274
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2016, 03:12:58 PM »
Get into WL or the console itself and check that your lat. long. is correctly entered old style; degrees, minutes, seconds, not digital.
Davis Wireless VP2 SHT31 24hr 67CFM FARS
RW Tipper w/ CoCoRaHS

Offline C5250

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 840
    • Local weather
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2016, 09:59:05 PM »
My registered position  is correct.  N 33.09  W97.31
...
WHERE do I change it so that the two agree?
I have VWS from a Davis Vantage Vue.
or any help.

You need to make sure VWS has the correct location, there are several possible formats for lat and long, so do be sure you are using the correct format.
Precious little in your life is yours by right and won without a fight.

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2016, 11:46:50 AM »
I checked in VWS.
Lat Longs correctly set:  33.092110
                                   -97.064288

Offline C5250

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 840
    • Local weather
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2016, 12:08:20 AM »
My registered position  is correct.  N 33.09  W97.31
I checked in VWS.
Lat Longs correctly set:  33.092110
                                   -97.064288

You sure about that longitude? What is your CWOP ID?

Precious little in your life is yours by right and won without a fight.

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2016, 10:12:57 AM »
D8828

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2016, 10:17:50 AM »
Google earth displays Lat longs in degrees, minutes, and seconds.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2016, 03:32:57 PM »
Get into WL or the console itself and check that your lat. long. is correctly entered old style; degrees, minutes, seconds, not digital.

Yes, I just rechecked both Davis Vue console and my settings in VWS.  They were not exact but not in China!
The problem in CWOP is obviously that the decimal system reading is showing +97 instead of -97 for DFW.  But darned if I can figure out where that entry is in order to change it.

Offline floodcaster

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 558
    • Goose Lake Weather
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2016, 05:35:46 PM »
Looks like you (or someone else using your id) are also sending out data to CWOP via Cumulus. And the Cumulus data feed has an incorrect lon.

DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:@202131z3305.53N/09703.85E_258/001g005t083r000p242P170h72b10108eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-5:@202140z3305.53N/09703.85E_254/001g006t083r000p235P170h73b10108eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-7:@202149z3305.53N/09703.85E_270/001g003t083r000p234P170h71b10107eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:!3332.23N/09754.00W_330/002g006t083r000P170p234h72b10110.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@202158z3305.53N/09703.85E_298/001g005t083r000p231P170h73b10106eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:!3332.23N/09754.00W_007/000g005t083r000P170p230h73b10110.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@202207z3305.53N/09703.85E_017/001g006t082r000p215P170h74b10106eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:!3332.23N/09754.00W_037/001g006t082r000P170p213h74b10110.VWS-DavisVVue
Bill


Offline C5250

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 840
    • Local weather
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2016, 09:26:54 PM »
Looks like you (or someone else using your id) are also sending out data to CWOP via Cumulus. And the Cumulus data feed has an incorrect lon.

DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:@202131z3305.53N/09703.85E_258/001g005t083r000p242P170h72b10108eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-5:@202140z3305.53N/09703.85E_254/001g006t083r000p235P170h73b10108eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-7:@202149z3305.53N/09703.85E_270/001g003t083r000p234P170h71b10107eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:!3332.23N/09754.00W_330/002g006t083r000P170p234h72b10110.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@202158z3305.53N/09703.85E_298/001g005t083r000p231P170h73b10106eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:!3332.23N/09754.00W_007/000g005t083r000P170p230h73b10110.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@202207z3305.53N/09703.85E_017/001g006t082r000p215P170h74b10106eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:!3332.23N/09754.00W_037/001g006t082r000P170p213h74b10110.VWS-DavisVVue

The data is virtually the same; VWS has the correct position, Cumulus does not.

Precious little in your life is yours by right and won without a fight.

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2016, 09:41:37 PM »
Cumulus station settings uses Deg Min Sec and N or S and E or W.  These station settings are not altered in the Cumulus APRS/CWOP upload settings.

Paul


Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2016, 11:39:06 PM »
I appreciate the attention.  With registered position, I can put the google earth thumbtack right on my roof.
With the APRS,  i have to approximate.
Good news, I am down to a 57 mile discrepancy instead of China!

In my Vue console, I have to really lose accuracy by rounding.  It's dumb the way that software has you enter important numbers.
But tomorrow I will try to get closer than 57 miles.  I corrected everywhere I could think of.

Offline C5250

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 840
    • Local weather
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2016, 11:50:19 PM »
In my Vue console, I have to really lose accuracy by rounding.  It's dumb the way that software has you enter important numbers.
But tomorrow I will try to get closer than 57 miles.  I corrected everywhere I could think of.

I don't believe there is any software that uses the console lat/long entries and virtually all use what settings have been entered into the software. This is a excellent example of how if you had provided your CWOP ID from the start, someone could have looked at the raw data and quickly identified the issue.
Precious little in your life is yours by right and won without a fight.

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2016, 12:05:28 PM »
Yes, APRS is reading from the little VWS servers box. 
That was my initial problem, I didn't know where it's data was reported.

I massively corrected the longitude error, from flippin' China to a spot across the street from me and about 3 doors down.
Close enough for government work, but not exact.
Why won't they just go by my "resgistered" position, which allows me to put an arrow right on my house on Google Earth.  Something almost anyone can do in seconds with great accuracy.

Offline Beaudog

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1207
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #15 on: August 23, 2016, 03:52:48 PM »
Do you have an amateur radio license?   Do you know what APRS stands for?

The whole system was designed for mobile reporting of positions. The coordinates can and should vary by your location even if moving.

If you want the coordinates to be correct you must have the software send the correct one. Not the console and not the map you click on.

Just out of curiosity why are you reporting the same info using two different software's?

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2016, 11:12:32 AM »

Holy Cow, you're right!  I had forgotten that I even communicated to APRS via Cumulus.  Thank you, it's changed!


Looks like you (or someone else using your id) are also sending out data to CWOP via Cumulus. And the Cumulus data feed has an incorrect lon.

DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:@202131z3305.53N/09703.85E_258/001g005t083r000p242P170h72b10108eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-5:@202140z3305.53N/09703.85E_254/001g006t083r000p235P170h73b10108eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-7:@202149z3305.53N/09703.85E_270/001g003t083r000p234P170h71b10107eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:!3332.23N/09754.00W_330/002g006t083r000P170p234h72b10110.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@202158z3305.53N/09703.85E_298/001g005t083r000p231P170h73b10106eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:!3332.23N/09754.00W_007/000g005t083r000P170p230h73b10110.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@202207z3305.53N/09703.85E_017/001g006t082r000p215P170h74b10106eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:!3332.23N/09754.00W_037/001g006t082r000P170p213h74b10110.VWS-DavisVVue

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2016, 11:21:11 AM »
Hmm.  I have a radio/telephone operator's permit since 1982.  I talk on the radio every day at work.  But I'm not into shortwave, if that's what you mean.
I originally started using both VWS and Cumulus because VWS was crashing frequently, and I was paranoid at losing my weather data.
I now have nearly 5 years of continuous data from my Vue, and it also goes to Wunderground.  I have a Davis Pro II in the box waiting for the day the Vue finally wears out.  I admit I like Cumulus very much.

I was alerted to the APRS problem when my sprinker system wanted to use a weather station and of course I chose my own.  It gets data for my station from CWOP. 

I appreciate the help I get here from people who obviously know way more about weather software than I do.


Do you have an amateur radio license?   Do you know what APRS stands for?

The whole system was designed for mobile reporting of positions. The coordinates can and should vary by your location even if moving.

If you want the coordinates to be correct you must have the software send the correct one. Not the console and not the map you click on.

Just out of curiosity why are you reporting the same info using two different software's?

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #18 on: August 24, 2016, 11:38:20 AM »
My icon says I'm a "Senior Contributor" :grin:

Ha, I am a senior question asker. :oops:

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #19 on: August 24, 2016, 01:01:14 PM »
I stopped the report to CWOP via Cumulus because I didn't realize I was double reporting and, with the VWS software I was able to get the station showing right on my lot, off by only about 35 feet east.

Online W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3213
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #20 on: August 24, 2016, 01:02:31 PM »
arrowspace90:

Your raw data uploads still don't look right to me. I see an inconsistency in the data that makes me believe that you still have multiple data feeds for the CWOP data. Below you will see a couple different sites that are sending CWOP data. Notice how consistent the data content is compared to yours (look at the right-side of the data). Yours is switching. I don't see that in mine nor in any other CWOP participant except yours. I see that your Lat/Lon being shown in the Cumulus feed appears to have the wrong Longitude. It is showing "3305.53N/09703.85E" where the E indicates East. It should be W for West. I would shut-off the Cumulus feed to eliminate this issue. You should never send more than a single CWOP feed at a time. CWOP guidelines recommend sending data every 15 minutes. See the CWOP Siting document at the following link (page 39):
http://weather.gladstonefamily.net/CWOP_Guide.pdf

Yours - DW8828:
Code: [Select]
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-6:@231651z3305.53N/09703.85E_144/007g017t087r000p006P000h67b10200eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-1:!3305.51N/09703.90W_172/013g016t088r000P000p006h66b10204.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-5:@231700z3305.53N/09703.85E_150/007g018t088r000p006P000h66b10199eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-3:@231709z3305.53N/09703.85E_157/008g020t088r000p006P000h67b10199eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:!3305.51N/09703.90W_146/002g020t088r000P000p006h67b10203.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-5:@231718z3305.53N/09703.85E_164/006g013t088r000p006P000h66b10200eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-5:!3305.51N/09703.90W_154/004g012t088r000P000p006h66b10203.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-7:@231727z3305.53N/09703.85E_147/006g020t088r000p006P000h65b10199eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-6:!3305.51N/09703.90W_074/004g014t088r000P000p006h65b10202.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-3:@231736z3305.53N/09703.85E_138/008g015t088r000p006P000h65b10197eCumulusDsVP

Mine - W3DRM:
Code: [Select]
W3DRM>APRS,TCPIP*,qAC,CWOP-2:@231650z3902.32N/11943.27W_123/001g002t074r000p000P000b10211h32.WD 31
W3DRM>APRS,TCPIP*,qAC,CWOP-1:@231700z3902.32N/11943.27W_123/001g003t075r000p000P000b10211h30.WD 31
W3DRM>APRS,TCPIP*,qAC,CWOP-4:@231710z3902.32N/11943.27W_123/000g003t076r000p000P000b10211h29.WD 31
W3DRM>APRS,TCPIP*,qAC,CWOP-5:@231720z3902.32N/11943.27W_142/004g006t078r000p000P000b10211h28.WD 31
W3DRM>APRS,TCPIP*,qAC,CWOP-2:@231730z3902.32N/11943.27W_142/002g006t079r000p000P000b10212h26.WD 31

KE8DAF:
Code: [Select]
KE8DAF-13>APMI06,TCPIP*,qAS,KE8DAF:@231639z4525.03N/08348.63W_279/007g012t082r000p000P000h57b10185L745WX3in1 weather
KE8DAF-13>APMI06,TCPIP*,qAS,KE8DAF:@231644z4525.03N/08348.63W_274/006g013t082r000p000P000h56b10185L751WX3in1 weather
KE8DAF-13>APMI06,TCPIP*,qAS,KE8DAF:@231649z4525.03N/08348.63W_296/006g013t082r000p000P000h55b10185L754WX3in1 weather
KE8DAF-13>APMI06,TCPIP*,qAS,KE8DAF:@231654z4525.03N/08348.63W_287/008g016t082r000p000P000h54b10185L758WX3in1 weather
KE8DAF-13>APMI06,TCPIP*,qAS,KE8DAF:@231659z4525.03N/08348.63W_321/009g016t082r000p000P000h54b10185L758WX3in1 weather
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37S-b61,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, , Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #21 on: August 24, 2016, 01:09:19 PM »
Yes, thank you, I fixed the Cumulus longitude, I hadn't even thought to check it.  It was set to E instead of W.
I also disabled the Cumulus feed to CWOP so that I make 1 report like everyone else.
I hope this makes my data more useful and I sure learned all the places where my lat/longs are set.

Online W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3213
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #22 on: August 24, 2016, 01:33:01 PM »
Yes, thank you, I fixed the Cumulus longitude, I hadn't even thought to check it.  It was set to E instead of W.
I also disabled the Cumulus feed to CWOP so that I make 1 report like everyone else.
I hope this makes my data more useful and I sure learned all the places where my lat/longs are set.

I think we were both making an entry at the same time. Yes, it does appear you have stopped sending the Cumulus based CWOP data. The data stream from the VUE apparently does not send a date/timestamp.

Code: [Select]
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-1:@241646z3305.53N/09703.85W_170/005g010t086r000p000P000h65b10198eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:!3305.12N/09703.91W_117/004g011t086r000P000p000h66b10200.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-1:@241655z3305.53N/09703.85W_166/005g016t086r000p000P000h66b10196eCumulusDsVP
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-6:!3305.12N/09703.91W_190/005g016t087r000P000p000h64b10198.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-6:!3305.12N/09703.91W_141/002g010t088r000P000p000h62b10197.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-1:!3305.12N/09703.91W_172/006g013t088r000P000p000h61b10196.VWS-DavisVVue
DW8828>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-2:!3305.12N/09703.91W_138/002g010t089r000P000p000h61b10196.VWS-DavisVVue

The last four line show the raw data. Good job!  =D>

In case you or anyone else is interested, here is a link to the APRS Protocol Reference manual. It has a lot of detailed info in it.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2016, 01:37:44 PM by W3DRM »
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37S-b61,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, , Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline arrowspace90

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
  • Vantage Pro II, chimney mounted, 30' elevation
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #23 on: August 25, 2016, 12:20:19 PM »
I switched to reporting via my Cumulus as it has a more accurate format for entering the lat/longs of the station. Putting the station finder icon right on my home lot.

I see now, from looking at the CWOP site, that I have been missing out on great features.  The site "grades" my station, which reassures me that, after 5 tough years on the roof with nothing but a battery change, the Vantage Vue is "calibrated" and getting double "thumbs up" marks on each measurement. 

I have been the loser from not setting up correctly and using the CWOP site correctly from day one.

Online W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3213
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: My map registered position and APRS position disagree
« Reply #24 on: August 25, 2016, 01:14:21 PM »
Don't be too hard on yourself - we all continue to learn with this hobby. I've had my VP2 for over 10 years now and I'm still learning the little tricks to making it better. This forum is full of very knowledgeable members so take advantage of that and don't be afraid to ask a question (no matter how dumb it may seem to you).
« Last Edit: August 25, 2016, 01:16:23 PM by W3DRM »
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37S-b61,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, , Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849