Author Topic: Weatherbridge?  (Read 1335 times)

Offline ubedawg

Weatherbridge?
« on: November 14, 2017, 12:57:32 PM »
First let me say that I am a total noob at this.  This is NOT my forte.  We have had a weather station for years now, but I know next to nothing about it.  I've been poking around in the forums and quite frankly, it's rather daunting.  I'm hoping that somebody can answer a hopefully simple question.   

Existing configuration: 
Old VantagePro 2, appears to be a serial interface to a HR-IXPWINDi.   There is a RJ11 (phone) cable, one end plugs into the VP2, the other end plugs into a serial (9 pin) device, which is in turn, plugged into the HR-IXPWND. 
Weather data is uploaded to WU and that's it. 

Our PWS has been appearing offline for about a week now at WU.   The HR-IXPWINDi just seems so temperamental and difficult to deal with.  I have many wireless devices on the Wifi, and have never experienced so much difficulty.   If I go into the router and view attached devices, I can see the weather station.  If i enter the IP address in a browser, I cannot get into the configuration.  Yesterday I rebooted the router and after the time allowance for all the devices to connect, I got the IP address of the IXPWIND and was able to get in.  I could view all of the weather data, the settings, etc.
Today, I cannot get into it.  The browser says 'Connecting..' but then it times out. 
The IXPWIND product is old and no longer supported.  No firmware updates, etc., so I figured I should just get a new IP thingy, and hopefully life will be easier. 

I've settled on a WEATHERBRIDGE from Ambient. 
It *appears* that all I need is the weatherbridge, and the USB to Serial converter?   From what I can see, the serial cable coming from the VP2 (female) would be connected to the serial to USB converter (male), and the converter plugged into the weatherbridge?