Author Topic: My Station Setup(s) - New and Old  (Read 4401 times)

Offline alexstaar

• Senior Contributor
My Station Setup(s) - New and Old
« on: January 26, 2015, 07:15:50 PM »
Figured I would post some pictures of my weather station(s) here!

A blurb about my setup(s)...

Well to start, I'm a college student renting a house in Huntsville, AL (attending UAH [University of Alabama in Huntsville] studying meteorology). This is why the station isn't permanently mounted to the house, fence, etc. I went with a tripod setup for easy portability when I move in a few years. It's a Davis Vantage Pro2 6153 Wireless with 24-hour FARS; I got it as a Christmas gift from my parents. It is on the north side of the house. The ISS is about 6 feet AGL (the radiation shield is about 5.5 feet AGL) and the anemometer is about 12.5 feet AGL. It's about 10 feet off the house, 11 feet off the fence behind it, and 24 feet off the blue garage. I chose the best spot for measuring rain given the surrounding trees. The house, as you may be able to tell, is shaped like a big "L". So I suppose wind turbulence and/or eddies may affect the wind speed and/or direction, but so far it seems to not have too much impact on the readings. I will admit that it's not the best place for a weather station, but so far it's accurate enough to my liking for a relatively temporary setup. I'm always within a degree or so of surrounding stations and the AWOS we have on campus about 1 mile away. Rain measurements are also very close to other stations. I have a WeatherLink IP logger hooked up to the console (in the kitchen) and then to a WiFi bridge. The computer in my room is connected through WiFi to the same router the logger is connected to. I did this because I like to see the console and station at the same time when it's windy and so my roommates could look at it if they wanted. I'm running Cumulus on my dad's old office Dell XPS (running Windows Vista) and so far I haven't had any issues. I really like Cum