Author Topic: Which Weather Station?  (Read 5652 times)

Offline MikeSatter

• Central-Clemson Clear Sky Clock
Which Weather Station?
« on: January 16, 2014, 11:12:29 PM »
I am new to weather stations and currently just have only an Acurite Wireless Thermometer which works flawlessly. I am considering purchasing a new Acurite Weather Station Model 01055 and looking for comments or suggestions. I want a unit that I can send my data wirelessly to Wunderground.com without having to have my computers running all the time. I currently have AT&T Uverse Internet with router. Thanks for any advice, comments, or recommendations.

Offline nincehelser

• Forecaster
Re: Which Weather Station?
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2014, 01:20:46 AM »
That's a good start.  For some people it may be all they needwant.  At $130 shipped for the entire kit, you really can't go too far wrong.  I'd jump on it now before the price goes back up.

Without the need for any computer, it will send real-time data to MyBackyardWeather.com which you can access via mobile apps.  You can also have the site forward data to wunderground.com in 15-minute increments out-of-the-box.

If you wish to send data more frequently to weatherground than every 15 minutes (and also to additional network services), there are various ways to do that.  They all require a computer or some other computing device.  I do it with a Raspberry Pi described here in my still-incomplete instructions *sigh*  http://nincehelser.com/ipwx   All that can wait for a later time, though.  Like I said, I'd jump in on the bargain price while you have the chance.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2014, 01:23:43 AM by nincehelser »

Offline MikeSatter

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2014, 07:27:49 AM »
Does anyone know when the sale ends?

Offline tandy1000

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2014, 08:13:39 AM »