Author Topic: New To The Scene  (Read 7144 times)

Offline aadb

New To The Scene
« on: July 10, 2009, 07:05:42 PM »
Hi guys,

I am new to the 'weather scene' and currently have a very basic / generic set up that doesn't do everything that I want and need it to.

I have been currently looking at this: http://www.weather-station-products.co.uk/item--LaCrosse-weather-station--WS2350.html

Does anyone have any experience with this product that could possibly lay out the pros and cons with, not only the hardware, but the software.

Also, suggested alternatives around the price point are most welcome.  Basically any suggestions you guys have would be really helpful.

I look forward to picking your brains'!

Thank in advance,

Dan

Offline DanS

• Chiang Mai weather
  • Forecaster
    • ThaiWx
Re: New To The Scene
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2009, 07:13:36 PM »
Hi Dan and welcome to the forum!

No matter what you decide on for the hardware, a great program to run it and automatically upload weather data on the Internet is WuHu (http://home.comcast.net/~wuhu_software/) and it's free!  For the hardware, I've been running a LaCrosse WS-2310 for over 5 years and it's tracking with a nearby (1/2 mile away) international airport's Metar reports.

Dan
« Last Edit: July 10, 2009, 07:17:43 PM by DanS »

Offline sam2004gp

• Mount Crawford, Virginia
  • Forecaster
  • Weeeeeeeee!!!!
    • Mount Crawford Weather, VA
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2009, 07:35:23 PM »
Welcome Dan, A good program that you can purchase is Virtual Weather Station, from ambient.  A ton of members also use it here.

http://www.ambientweather.com/virtualstation.html

SAM --->>> http://www.mountcrawfordweather.org
OS WMR-968 with a Dedicated PWS Weather Computer running VWS v13.01 p09

Offline aadb

« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2009, 07:38:02 PM »
Thanks for all the helpful info guys, I'll have a look at both suggestions now :)

Offline aadb

« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2009, 04:29:34 AM »