Author Topic: Newb trying to get started  (Read 2282 times)

Offline PCBob

• Avondale Weather
Newb trying to get started
« on: April 27, 2010, 12:23:24 PM »
Hi. Complete newbie here to the whole weather tracking thing and I had a couple of questions that may implicate me as crazy but I'll try anyway.

Since I was young I have always liked to measure things, track statistics and generally play with the tools that do that sort of thing. Weather instruments is my latest fascination. I have done alot of reading and right now I've tentatively decided on a Vantage Vue w/weatherlink but haven't pull the trigger yet.

My question is what do most of you do with the data? I think I understand the farmers and gardeners that rely on the data for planting but what about the average 8-5 office junkie like me?

I guess I'm trying to justify it in my mind that after I order it, wait out by the mailbox for the man in the brown truck then have fun with installing it, making it work and any calibration comparisons what is the popular next step? I'm familiar with WU, CoCoRhas and CWOP and that all seems like some fun but was curious what others do in the day to day as a weather hobbyist.

Thanks very much for any input, I'll probably order this week and have some fun this weekend.

Plant City Bob
Plant City Bob
------------------------
PWS Weather - Avondale
CWOP - DW5003
Weather Underground - KFLPLANT15
CoCoRaHS - FL-HB-68
Vantage Vue
Cumulus 1.8.9
Windows XP

Offline ocala

• Forecaster
  • The blues had a baby and named it rock n roll
Re: Newb trying to get started
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2010, 12:58:33 PM »
Hey Bob welcome to the forum.
I really just use the data to do a year by year analysis. Rainfall this ElNino compared to the last one. Number of days below freezing this Winter compared with last etc. Nothing earth shattering really just fun to do.