Author Topic: Opinions on two stations  (Read 2236 times)

Offline dehinrichs

Opinions on two stations
« on: February 20, 2015, 01:47:30 PM »
Hello everyone,
I am a newbie to all things weather station, although I've been a weather nerd for most of my life. Anyway, I would like to buy a station for my yard - about $200 to spend. I have it narrowed down to a couple and would like any thoughts or ideas between the two.

These are them: 

Acurite 905WES
ambientweather WS-1400-IP

The both are about the same price ($150), and from what I can see both are worth contenders.
I'm leaning more toward the WS-1400 if nothing else because my wife would give me grief for 'another weather console' in the house.

Thanks for any input!

Offline skysummit

• Forecaster
    • StormCast
Re: Opinions on two stations
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2015, 01:05:26 AM »
I have the 900WES and am 100% satisfied with it. Mine has been in operation for a little over a month and so far no problems. Using a 3rd party software along with Weather Display, I'm able to get my data on all the most popular websites.

Setup was a breeze.
Hardware:  Acurite Atlas with Lightning Detector
CoCoRaHs Station: LA-TG-11

NWS's Ponchatoula/Hammond Area's COOP Member
President | Director of Operations - StormCast

Offline Bushman

• Forecaster
    • Eagle Bay Weather
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2015, 10:58:57 AM »
Go with the Acurite.  And check Facebook etc. for a discount code.  You should be able to get it for 10-30% off if you hunt around.  Save enough to add a Meteobridge box.  :)
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline skysummit

• Forecaster
    • StormCast
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2015, 11:01:34 AM »
^^^True....just registering on the Acurite website should at least get you an email with a 10% off code.
Hardware:  Acurite Atlas with Lightning Detector
CoCoRaHs Station: LA-TG-11