Author Topic: Ambient 1400 or Acurite 5-1 Environment Station w/Internet bridge  (Read 3613 times)

Offline ggsteve

• Forecaster
I am considering a second weather station to use as for comparison and backup to my Rainwise Mk III.  A Davis would be my first choice, but having just spent four figures on the Rainwise and IP-100, the WTF (Wife Tolerance Factor, get your mind out the gutter) has been reached.  So that leaves us with lower cost alternatives.  Both the Ambient and Acurite can be had for less than just the Davis Weatherlink IP and both seem to have their proponents.  What say ye?

Offline Beaudog

• Forecaster
Re: Ambient 1400 or Acurite 5-1 Environment Station w/Internet bridge
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2014, 06:50:21 PM »
I have no experience with ambient.   

I have an acurite bridge and a Davis vp2.   The acurite tracks very close to the davis  except for wind. They are located about a mile apart.

The WU data for both are in my sig.

I think the acurite with bridge can be had a cosco for less than $100 right now.

I have several post in the acurite forum about this. I can not double task and get the exact post from this machine.

Offline ggsteve

• Forecaster
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2014, 07:04:46 PM »
I have no experience with ambient.   

I have an acurite bridge and a Davis vp2.   The acurite tracks very close to the davis  except for wind. They are located about a mile apart.

The WU data for both are in my sig.

I think the acurite with bridge can be had a cosco for less than $100 right now.

I have several post in the acurite forum about this. I can not double task and get the exact post from this machine.

The Acurite at our Costco uses PC Connect.  I think that means a PC on 24/7.  It is a bargain at $79.

Offline dport

• Senior Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2014, 08:44:49 AM »