Author Topic: online weather maps that show current position and area of air masses ove the US  (Read 1272 times)

Offline p3aul

Please forgive me if I have posted this in the wrong forum It didn't seem a good fit anywhere.

I know that the fronts depict portions of the boundaries of the air masses  and how to determine which side of the front is colder or warmer but the whole airmass is not shown and neither is what type it is ie Mt, Mp, Cp...etc. Does anyone know if anyone produces such a map.

Thanks,
Paul

Offline CW2274

• Forecaster
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Don't even know if there is such a thing. If you have an educated/working knowledge of satellite pics and loops, especially WV and IR, you can get a pretty good idea what associated air mass you're looking at.

Offline p3aul

I don't have an educated or working knowledge of meteorology at all. Only what I have been self taught because it interests me greatly.  I don't see that as a barrier to understanding and being able to follow satellite maps. Every discipline has buzzwords, acronyms, and initials. I understand that. I know what IR is and WV is.

It just seems to me since air masses are so important in determining the weather there should be maps showing them or some simple way of plotting them.

I don't have a degree in meteorology but if that is what is required here maybe I better look elsewhere.

Offline gwwilk

• Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
The NWS WPC has 'analysis' maps that include a current map or two or so that may be what you're looking for.  There are many, many views available some of which I've included on this page.  They are looped here.
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@gmail.com

Offline CW2274

• Forecaster
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch