Author Topic: HELP with internet weather  (Read 2496 times)

Offline kpatteri

HELP with internet weather
« on: September 02, 2008, 05:01:08 PM »
Hi, I just purchased a OS WMR200 and would like to upload the info to the internet.  I was curious what the easiest way to go about this.  I know there are several websites and programs out there and have found it a bit confusing.  I am new to this and was looking for some advice.

Thanks,

Kevin

Offline wxcrw

• Castle Rock Weather.org
Re: HELP with internet weather
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2008, 05:35:47 PM »
I'm assuming you have your OS WMR200 connected to a home computer right now. If not i'm sure someone else, who is more familiar with the OS products can chime in about that process.

Simplest solution is to start uploading to WUnderground.com. You can create a station id, and running free software upload your data directly to them. The free software is called WUHU, and can be found at http://home.comcast.net/~wuhu_software/. The best part of weather underground is they record, tren, and display your data in tables and graphs. Very cool site, and almost all of us still continue to upload our data to them, even though we have our own weather websites.

If your interested in running your own website, that you can customize, modify, and make your own your gonna need a bit more equipment/software. You will need a web server. Hosted or run by you. You will need a method of getting data to that server from your local pc. Your local pc, will need software that can process the raw data coming from the OS WMR200.

This software isn't free, so expect an initial software investment.

There are 2 programs that most of us use. They include Weather Display and Virtual Weather Station. Each one does things a little different, and it mostly boils down to preference, although more advanced websites use both. I recommend picking one and using it for a while.