Author Topic: What to purchase.........  (Read 3073 times)

Offline buckeyeair

What to purchase.........
« on: May 21, 2010, 09:51:25 PM »
I am new to the weather hobby and am looking for my first weather station. I would like to have a wireless system to place in my yard (50'-70' out) and to include a self emptying rain bucket and be as maintenance free as possible due to being in a wheelchair---I would like to keep the cost around $200. or less....I have spec'd out the Oregon Scientific WMR968 as well as the La Crosse WS-2810U....
Any suggestions and advice would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
glenn (buckeyeair)

Offline SlowModem

• Weather at the speed of dialup!
  • Forecaster
  • WX @ 26.4 kbs
    • Watts Bar Weather
Re: What to purchase.........
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2010, 10:11:33 PM »
I am new to the weather hobby and am looking for my first weather station.

I have a OS968 and a lacrosse ws2315 and am happy with both.  If 50 people respond to this post, you'll probably get 50 different answers!

However, while you're making up your mind, you might want to consider sensor placement:  http://home.comcast.net/~dshelms/CWOP_Guide.pdf

Also, be sure and get a radiation shield.  It's a worthwhile investment.

Good luck!
Greg Whitehead
Ten Mile, TN USA

Offline Wx4U

• Senior Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2010, 10:26:33 PM »
Welcome to the forum. Slow Modem spoke well. I started with a LaCrosse 2308 and now have added a Davis VP2 wireless. For what its worth, Radio Shack has a copy of the OS968. I can't see any difference in the two, but the Radio Shack has a better manual. Also, I believe the price is better. The 968 is sold by several vendors, just shop around. Radio Shack has theirs on-line and at most stores. Good Luck.
Bob
Retired USAF Air Traffic Controller, Davis VP2 Wireless, WLS 5.8.2, LaCrosse 2308, Logitech Pro 9000 (Roof mounted on rotor), CoCoRaSh gauge, KTXARLIN35, Compaq Presario W/Vista

Offline info

• Contributor