Author Topic: Dewpoint reading showing higher than the temperature?  (Read 2742 times)

Offline Tennesseestorm

Dewpoint reading showing higher than the temperature?
« on: July 03, 2019, 08:31:44 PM »
I am not a weather expert, but know a little about weather.  This morning before I left work my new Acurite weather station was showing the current temperature of 68 and a current dewpoint of 69 - humidity was 99%.  How could the dewpoint be higher than the temperature?  I never seen that before on my Davis weather station, so a little confused.  Any thoughts? 

Offline nincehelser

• Forecaster
Re: Dewpoint reading showing higher than the temperature?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2019, 08:56:07 PM »
Probably a rounding issue.

Dewpoint isn’t directly measured, but is an approximation based on temperature and relative humidity.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline CW2274

• Forecaster
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2019, 09:05:48 PM »
How could the dewpoint be higher than the temperature?
It can't, physical impossibility unless you get into supersaturation situations in the upper levels of the atmosphere.

Offline Tennesseestorm

« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2019, 09:28:50 PM »
Thanks.  I don't know what the deal is.  I know that the dewpoint cannot be higher than the temp, but this weather station does not seem to know that.  You would think even if the temp was 68.4, it would have said the dew point was 68, not 69.  I wonder if I could fidget with the calibration?  So far, not happy with this weather station - not only because of this, but also cannot even get connected to wi-fi and it is a wi-fi model, but that is a story on a different thread.  I love the display however.  It is clear and easy to read - much better than my Davis weather station console.   
« Last Edit: July 03, 2019, 09:30:23 PM by Tennesseestorm »

Online DoctorKnow

• Forecaster
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2019, 08:25:48 AM »