Author Topic: Considering an AcuRite weather station (01024M Pro Weather station)  (Read 2940 times)

Offline Tennesseestorm

Hi all.  As I have shared on the Davis weather station thread, my humidity sensor on my Davis Vantage Vue weather station went out and it is my understating that it is costly to replace that sensor on this station. With that said, I have decided to move on to another station and trying to decide which one.  I would like to spend no more than $150 (mine cost around $300 4 years ago) and not wanting to do that again.  I really like this AcuRite station 01024M with HD display and lightning detector.  I mainly want the HD screen for my aging eyes.  lol.  I also like accurate temperature and dew point.  I would also like to know if this is one I can connect to weather underground?  Does anyone have any opinions on these and do they have replaceable sensors if something like the humidity sensor goes out and it does not cost a fortune.  I am not an expert or a technical guru, so need something in plain English.  :D  Thanks! 

Offline Jim Ace

• Hewlett Point Beach
I don't think it connects to WU,  you would need a hub, (AcuRite Access model 09155M) to send data to WU.  There are other manufacturers that offer data uploads to WU.  Ambient weather and Ecowitt are a few to look at. 
KNYEASTR4
Ecowitt WS65
AWEKAS 14894
PWS
WeatherCloud
Windy
Weewx
CumulusMX
CWOP FW3861

Offline DoctorKnow

• Forecaster
The thermo/hygo is replaceable, along with the fan, and wind cups. The instrument is very good with humidity and also temperature as long as the fan is working at full speed. Siting for wind is the most difficult in an area with lots of homes and trees. The model you link to does not connect to internet.