Author Topic: Weather34 template(non meteobridge versions)  (Read 117948 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8605
    • Meteotemplate
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #125 on: October 16, 2016, 07:15:07 AM »
Hi Brian,
just a little reaction to your previous post :-) I have also considered using drag/drop for the block setup, it seems sort of natural to do that. It turned out non-feasable in my case for several reasons. The primary reason is that in my case it is much more complicated because the blocks can be "multiple blocks" - (more than one merged together), "menu blocks" - dynamically loading different blocks in one spot etc.
But also, I have discovered the exact same problem as you. First of all, it is still not that easy to implement this, and second, I did found problems with how this thing behaves across different platforms/browsers. It usually does "something" but not always what you want it to do.
In the end I came to the conclusion that it is impossible to do, at least in my case, though as I said, in your case it would probably be a bit simpler because you are dragging simple divs with relatively defined layout.

The draggable function is quite cool. I use that for my graphs, currently only in one plugin, but I will include it in other pages as well. It solves one of the problems I always had.... how high should I make the graph.... in Highcharts, the div must have a specific height. The problem is that some people want it higher to see more details, while others want it smaller, less details, but also less scrolling. In the end I used the jQuery drag to place a little dragging icon in the bottom right corner and you can resize it and the graph resizes correspondingly.

And that actually works quite well and jQuery guarantees compatibility across all platforms. I myself tested it with Chrome, FF, Opera, Safari and the default Android browser. It works correctly and as wanted in all so it is safe to use.

Looking forward to your new improvements :-)

Offline weather34

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
    • https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #126 on: October 16, 2016, 12:44:23 PM »
Hello. New here and first post...

I have an Aercus WeatherRanger WIFI PWS that feeds Wunderground.  Is it possible to configure the data source for this template as the wunderground api for current observations as well as forecast?

I'm asking because I haven't found a way to intercept the data from the PWS as it's sent over wifi and not through a logger.

I've tried configuring the settings to how I think it should be but I just get the forecast data.

Thank you for any advice.

Coj

this is the only one i could find was dated back to June 2015 al you need to do is configure the settings.php but beware its limited by the api calls per day
all i did was replace the icons with the new ones apart from that it works still but interesting to look back at that attempt.

<?php
$api ='xxxxxxx'; // weather underground api key
$id ='ISTANBUL161'; // weather underground station id
$lat = '41.001';
$lon = '28.543';
$tz = 'Europe/Istanbul';

?>

download http://www.mediafire.com/file/0v849kvmt26u86m/june2015.zip

Offline cojones

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #127 on: October 16, 2016, 02:31:34 PM »
Thank you very much...now to give it a whirl!

Offline mattwx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #128 on: October 16, 2016, 11:28:55 PM »

drag and option hmmm having second thoughts as I kind of vision some user experience problems . i personally love it but i can see people getting frustrated on non touch screen
devices , it works well on a desktop but it so easy to move the mouse across a module a pick it up and move unexpectedly so I am looking at a script from https://jqueryui.com/draggable/ to position the pick up point in the bottom right hand corner of module and hold down mouse only to fire the drag and drop when on desktop.

thanks for response.

brian

I could see the benefit of drag and drop to initially setup the site and then locked down for visitors--but that's just because my web development skills are still stuck in 1999.

Offline droiddk

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 334
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #129 on: October 18, 2016, 09:22:08 AM »

1. droiddk: 3 months ago the situation here in istanbul was getting awful , numerous suicide bombings on one occassion stood at the point at the airport some 3 hours earlier , another occasion wife was 5 minutes away with a group of visitors from a another suicide bomb in the city.



Thanks for your reply Brian.

Regards


Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2295
    • CNYWeather
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #130 on: October 19, 2016, 09:29:54 AM »
Brian, is there a way to get this template to center when viewing it on a mobile device?

It is a nice alternative for mobile users and Google's Mobile Friendly Test likes it also.

THANKS!
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Tony




Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8605
    • Meteotemplate
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #131 on: October 19, 2016, 10:08:30 AM »
In the CSS file, it should work if you replace the margin-left with auto margin, like this:

@media screen and (max-width: 768px)
.weather-item {
margin-left: 1px

change to
@media screen and (max-width: 768px)
.weather-item {
margin: 0 auto

At least this works in the browser and I think it should work on a phone too

Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2295
    • CNYWeather
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #132 on: October 19, 2016, 12:27:46 PM »
Tried that. Looks the same on my phone justified to the left. I'll play around a little more
Tony




Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8605
    • Meteotemplate
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #133 on: October 19, 2016, 01:27:25 PM »
When I look at your site, it still has that margin-left:0px, it is either in some other CSS file that overrides it, or it is hardcoded directly in that container properties

Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2295
    • CNYWeather
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #134 on: October 19, 2016, 01:30:21 PM »
Yeah, there a few other CSS files. I'll take a gander after work today.
Tony




Offline weather34

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
    • https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #135 on: October 19, 2016, 02:35:44 PM »
Yeah, there a few other CSS files. I'll take a gander after work today.

try the quick way adjusting highlighted in bold till its suits your mobile,but probably not suited for smaller mobile devices ,currently set for IOS see screenshot

/* homeweatherstation beta css for mobile devices */
/* Tablet */
@media screen and (max-width: 768px) {
  .weather-container {
    display: inline;
    width: 300px;
    height: 200px;
    background-color: none;
    margin: 5px auto;
    font-family: arial,sans-serif;
    text-rendering: optimizeLegibility;
    -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased;
    -moz-osx-font-smoothing: grayscale;
    -moz-font-smoothing: antialiased;
    -o-font-smoothing: antialiased;
    -ms-font-smoothing: antialiased;
    overflow: hidden;
  }

  .weather-item {
    float: none;
    width: 310px;
    margin-left: 1px;
    margin-top: 10px;
    overflow: hidden;
  /*scrolling overflow hidden keeping height correct for small devices */
  }



Offline steven west

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • Potts Point Weather
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #136 on: October 20, 2016, 04:36:17 PM »
Hi
I am running version 7 and noticed that the time hasn't updated for Australian Eastern Daylight time. I had to change my UTC offset to +11 to show correct time.
Is the timezone information not coming from the Australia\Sydney timezone declaration?
Steven
Potts Point - Sydney - Australia
WS2310 - 1Wire - Windows 10

Offline weather34

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
    • https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #137 on: October 21, 2016, 04:16:50 AM »
Hi
I am running version 7 and noticed that the time hasn't updated for Australian Eastern Daylight time. I had to change my UTC offset to +11 to show correct time.
Is the timezone information not coming from the Australia\Sydney timezone declaration?
Steven

good morning steven

in settings.php simple adjustment to calculate offset of utc for script

$UTC = '3';  // NUMBER of hours betweeen your location and UTC ,EXAMPLE new york -4 london 0 istanbul 3

its just an extra i added the simple jquery script is based on UTC so not using php timezone .probably have to adjust when the clocks change .

your lucky or not here in Turkey we no longer change times same all year round from this year onwards.


brian

Offline weather34

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
    • https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #138 on: October 21, 2016, 04:32:21 AM »
Brian, is there a way to get this template to center when viewing it on a mobile device?

It is a nice alternative for mobile users and Google's Mobile Friendly Test likes it also.

THANKS!
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

TONY try this sorry been busy but had time to look at it this morning

add this to both to the end of the css files main.light.css  main.dark.css , i managed to use my neighbours samsung phone this morning for 10 minutes
where at max-width:830px you adjust that to suit your device as Im guessing there different so play around with that then wont screw if visitors arrive on a ios device.


/* homeweatherstation beta css for mobile CNYWEATHER devices */
@media only screen and (max-width:830px){
 
 .weather-container {
    display: inline;
    width: 300px;
    height: 200px;
    background-color: none;
    margin: 5px auto;
    font-family: arial,sans-serif;
    text-rendering: optimizeLegibility;
    -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased;
    -moz-osx-font-smoothing: grayscale;
    -moz-font-smoothing: antialiased;
    -o-font-smoothing: antialiased;
    -ms-font-smoothing: antialiased;
    overflow: hidden;
  }

  .weather-item {
    float: none;
    width: 310px;
    margin:0 auto;
    margin-top: 10px;
    overflow: hidden;
  }
 
  .homeweathernotifications {
    display: none;
  }

  .homeweathernotify {
    display: none;
  }

  .chart,.chart,.charttemperature,.chartforecast,.a,.chartbarometer,.chartdeprem,.chartdirection,.chartrainfall,.chartsky,.chartsolar,.chartwindspeed,.weather2-container,.weatherfooter-container,.weatherheather {
    display: none;
  }

  header {
    display: none;
  }

  #icon {
    width: 55px;
    height: 43px;
    float: left;
    padding: 5px;
    margin: 0 0 0 10px;
  }
}

Offline weather34

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
    • https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION template standard version only
« Reply #139 on: October 21, 2016, 05:07:15 AM »
this applies to only the HOMEWEATHERSTATION template standard version ,includes new contact form and additional css REQUEST from the post by CNY above.

simple update zip file please replace all files/folders found in the zip

files
index.php
indexnew.php

folders
common(new contact form)
css (css folder)

files size 1mb
http://www.mediafire.com/file/3ipwmt4205bby62/simpleupdate21102016.zip

« Last Edit: October 24, 2016, 04:20:09 AM by weatherist34 »

Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2295
    • CNYWeather
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #140 on: October 21, 2016, 09:17:03 AM »
I messed something up Brian. I have no data showing. My clientraw is in the weather directory.
What would the correct path be on the template?

http://cnyweather.com/pws/index.php
Tony




Offline weather34

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
    • https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #141 on: October 21, 2016, 10:04:04 AM »
I messed something up Brian. I have no data showing. My clientraw is in the weather directory.
What would the correct path be on the template?

http://cnyweather.com/pws/index.php

hi tony

i had a quick but your url just hangs there on a blank page and then i went to http://cnyweather.com that pretty much does the same , it may not be you as here in turkey many US sites just dont load at times , we had google blocked last week and other social media . ill have proper look on my desktop through private vpn

but reviewing the console

i get this but dont panic just yet it may have nothing todo with your setup
Blocked a frame with origin "https://googleads.g.doubleclick.net" from accessing a frame with origin "http://cnyweather.com".  The frame requesting access has a protocol of "https", the frame being accessed has a protocol of "http

Offline weather34

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
    • https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #142 on: October 21, 2016, 10:12:14 AM »
I messed something up Brian. I have no data showing. My clientraw is in the weather directory.
What would the correct path be on the template?

http://cnyweather.com/pws/index.php

hi tony

i had a quick but your url just hangs there on a blank page and then i went to http://cnyweather.com that pretty much does the same , it may not be you as here in turkey many US sites just dont load at times , we had google blocked last week and other social media . ill have proper look on my desktop through private vpn

but reviewing the console

i get this but dont panic just yet it may have nothing todo with your setup
Blocked a frame with origin "https://googleads.g.doubleclick.net" from accessing a frame with origin "http://cnyweather.com".  The frame requesting access has a protocol of "https", the frame being accessed has a protocol of "http

ok through a private vpn i got it all ok so your path would be the quick way http://yourdomain.com/weather/clientraw.txt

settings.php

###########################################################################################
# THIS AREA IS VERY CRITICAL                                                                      
# // clientraw.txt = clientraw, realtime.txt = cumulus, MBrealtime.txt = meteobridge, ws1001.json = ws1001  //          #   
###########################################################################################
$livedata           = 'http://yourdomain.com/weather/clientraw.txt'; // path to raw data. clientraw.txt  realtime.txt  MBrealtime.txt ws1001.json
$livedataFormat     = 'clientraw'; // data format: 'cumulus', 'ws1001', 'clientraw', 'meteobridge' (case-sensitive)        #
###########################################################################################

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8605
    • Meteotemplate
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #143 on: October 21, 2016, 10:15:45 AM »
Brian, I can access his page fine and the error is here:

Code: [Select]
for(var i=0;i<forecasts.length;i++){
var currentDay=forecasts[i];
$("#wuforecasts").append("<div id='wuforecast'><h1 id='weekday'>"+currentDay.date.weekday_short+"  "+currentDay.date.day+"</h1><img id='icon' src='css/icons/"+currentDay.icon+".png'></img>"+
"<span style='color:#f26c4f;font-size:12px;font-weight:bold;'> "+
currentDay.high.fahrenheit+"°</span> | "+"<span style='color:#00adbc;font-size:12px;font-weight:bold;'> "+
currentDay.low.fahrenheit +"° "+"</span><br>"+"<span style='color:#00adbc;font-size:10px;font-family:Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;font-weight:bold;'> "+
currentDay.pop+"% <span style='font-size:9px;font-family:Helvetica, Arial;'> precip</span></span><span class='fgtext' style='padding-right:3px;font-size:11px;font-family:Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;font-weight:bold;'><br> "+
<br><span style='color:00adbc;padding-right:3px;font-size:11px;font-family:Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;font-weight:bold;'>"+
//currentDay.snow_allday.cm+" <span style='color:#00adbc;font-size:9px;font-family:Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;'> cm <div class='wi wi-snowflake-cold'></div><div class='wi wi-snowflake-cold'></div>"
currentDay.qpf_allday.in+" <span style='color:#00adbc;font-size:9px;font-family:Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;'> in <div class='wi wi-raindrop wi-rotate-45'></div>"
);
}

Notice this line:

currentDay.pop+"% <span style='font-size:9px;font-family:Helvetica, Arial;'> precip</span></span><span class='fgtext' style='padding-right:3px;font-size:11px;font-family:Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;font-weight:bold;'><br> "+
                <br><span style
='color:00adbc;padding-right:3px;font-size:11px;font-family:Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;font-weight:bold;'>"+

there are quotes missing

Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2295
    • CNYWeather
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #144 on: October 21, 2016, 11:20:46 AM »
Thanks. I fixed the path and it's ok now.

I guess Google Ads on my main page is a hassle. I don't really get much from it so i'll probably
removed it from my footer. I block ads myself anyway.  :-)
Tony




Offline weather34

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
    • https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #145 on: October 21, 2016, 11:26:31 AM »
Thanks. I fixed the path and it's ok now.

I guess Google Ads on my main page is a hassle. I don't really get much from it so i'll probably
removed it from my footer. I block ads myself anyway.  :-)

ok good . have fun have a nice weekend

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8605
    • Meteotemplate
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #146 on: October 21, 2016, 11:32:24 AM »
Thanks. I fixed the path and it's ok now.

I guess Google Ads on my main page is a hassle. I don't really get much from it so i'll probably
removed it from my footer. I block ads myself anyway.  :-)

Good idea :-)

Also keep in mind that many data sources are only free for non-commercial purposes and so are many scripting libraries. So if you used GAds on your site you would need to get a license for all those.

Offline weather34

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
    • https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard icons updated
« Reply #147 on: October 24, 2016, 04:02:25 AM »
New icons updated for flurries,sleet and night time icons, icons are available via new area http://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/websiteicons/weathericons.html

the download includes PSD/SVG/PNG files currently they are currently named for weather underground forecast/current api service however you can adapt to other services just by renaming the icons to the appropriate name required by the service.

main template simple update for standard version only

the simple update zip file was updated with new contact form includes captcha security and many thanks to Piet http://www.weerstation-sauwerd.nl over the weekend for testing and eliminating the server config issue of session_start(),
contactform uses existing email set in the settings.php so there is nothing to configure if you have set $email = "something@dot.com"

also included change to moonphase.php,index.php,indexnew.php and css folder with changes to main.light.css/main.dark.css also includes new icons.to use just replace existing files/folders on server download at http://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/index.html



« Last Edit: October 24, 2016, 04:22:43 AM by weatherist34 »

Offline weather34

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
    • https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard NEW FAQ Page
« Reply #148 on: October 24, 2016, 06:18:28 AM »
NEW FAQ page online will update further after collating various scenarios experienced over the last few months with solutions generally server configurations.

http://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/faq.html


Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5509
    • KomokaWeather
Re: HOMEWEATHERSTATION Dashboard template
« Reply #149 on: October 24, 2016, 10:03:26 AM »
Thanks Brian.  I used the "simpleupdate"method and all looks good.  The FAQ page is well done...
However I must have missed something in my reading as the full Contact form does not come up www.komokaweather.com/pws.  I just uploaded the added contactform folder in /pws/ and presume I need to do some edit?

Enjoying,
Paul