Author Topic: Solar radiation sensor, why and what  (Read 6411 times)

Offline cabud

Solar radiation sensor, why and what
« on: April 25, 2018, 06:22:52 PM »
Hello, I joined to ask this question. New member, hopefully life member in the making. I am an industrial controls engineer, wanting to get into weather tracking. I have some projects at hydro-electric power stations that have me interested in weather telemetry.

My question at the moment is regarding the solar radiation and UV sensors available with some brands. I can't find what these are for, why they might be useful, and if I might appreciate having these sensors even if I don't understand them now. I am an avid gardener, would I use it for that?

Also, If I post to the CWOP, and other web services, are these Solar and UV sensors providing data that they would find useful, even if I don't? Thanks

Offline DaleReid

• Forecaster
    • Weather at Eau Claire, WI
Re: Solar radiation sensor, why and what
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2018, 09:29:25 PM »
From my point of view, there are those who have mainly Davis stations with their easily available add-ons or more complete stations with at least the solar sensor on them.
Sometimes it seems like solar values are just one more thing about our weather to measure and record.  Other times it is used to help calculate evaporation losses, so I'm thinking the ag users would be more interested.  Other times it does help estimate hours of sunlight, for growing, solar power generation,and so on.

Me?  I glance at my graph and get a good idea of whether the skies were clear, partly cloudy, what time of day and all that. Just using as my 'sunshine indicator' for which there are other but not integrated devices. 

Hope it helps your awareness.
Dale
ECWx.info
&
ECWx.info/t/index.php

Offline BeaverMeadow

• Senior Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2018, 10:45:03 PM »