Author Topic: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy  (Read 426 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« on: December 06, 2017, 06:02:43 PM »
I made the move today to cPanel, and not gone smoothly.
Finally got www.komokaweather.com www.komokaweather.com/weather28 www.komokaweather.com/pws working (primarily new path issues issues in the Cumulus updates)
but the Saratoga www.komokaweather.ca or the alternate www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca is not yet coming up.

GoDaddy says it is a configuration issue in my files after update migration and I should see if I can set up error reporting as they are not seeing any errors.
Any suggestion what I can do or where I need to look?

Thanks,
Paul

Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2109
    • http://www.cnyweather.com
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2017, 06:59:55 PM »
In the viewsource, is your komokaweather.ca running in an iframe Paul?

Code: [Select]
<html>

<head>
  <title>www.komokaweather.ca</title>
 
</head>
<frameset rows="100%,*" border="0">
  <frame src="http://www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca" frameborder="0" />
  <frame frameborder="0" noresize />
</frameset>

<!-- pageok -->
<!-- 08 -->
<!-- -->
</html>
Tony


Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2017, 07:41:38 PM »
looking at http://www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca/check-fetch-times.php?show=info says

Quote
Unable to find Settings.php.. directory testing skipped.
And a check-fetch-times.php?show=settings doesn't show a Settings.php either.  Put that file in the kimokawaweather-ca/ directory and it should work again.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2017, 07:59:05 PM »
Hi Tony,
It is running by itself in the normal Saratoga setup in its own subfolder /komokaweather-ca. 
However, as my hosting is komokaweather.com and the Saratoga template is domain www.komokaweather.ca this domain is redirected to www.komokaweaher.com/komokaweather-ca and that is how it has been running for many years.

I have now also uploaded the Meteotemplate site to the new cPanel and that is also working www.komokaweather.com/j-template so the only template not yet working is Saratoga. I think I have the cron job set for the BOMap so the only other thing to do, other than get www.komokaweather.ca (www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca), is MySQL database but this should not impact the Saratoga template I think.



Edit before posting above:
Hi Ken.
the webserver has Settings-weather.php and settings.php
Both were downloaded from the old server and uploaded to the new cPanel.

I am having difficulty getting in my old webserver files so can't confirm yet if there was a Settings.php there.

Thanks,
Paul
Regards,
Paul

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2017, 08:04:36 PM »
Ummm.   http://www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca/Settings.php gets a 404-Not Found, so it's not on the webserver.  It should display an empty page if it is on the webserver.

http://www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca/Settings-weather.php does (correctly) display an empty page (so it's there).

'Dead site' syndrome can be caused by missing Settings.php, Settings-weather.php, and the CUtags.php files (or any other scripts that are included in top/header/menubar/footer PHP scripts.

Your issue is likely the missing Settings.php file.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2017, 08:06:36 PM by saratogaWX »
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2017, 08:06:28 PM »
Tried, on my own initiative \:D/ , by changing settings.php to Settings.php and www.komokaweather.ca

Thanks for the lead Ken,
Paul

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2017, 08:07:52 PM »
Yep.. that will do it.  On *nix servers, 'Settings.php' and 'settings.php' are two different files.  Upper/lower-case matters :)
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2017, 08:10:05 PM »
Thanks Ken,
Now to see what scripts are or are not working.

p.s. the page loads much faster, and still on PHP 5.6

Still enjoying,
Paul

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2017, 08:19:41 PM »
Hi Ken,
In the old server I had 10 cron jobs to update BOmaps animate.txt
I have entered them in the cPanel in the Create Cron jobs help
/usr/local/bin/php -q /home/psoykkrhjuz3/public_html/BOmap/animate.txt

However it looks like that may not be correct as the map is not being updated.
Do you have a quick thought before I wait on the GoDaddy support line?

Thanks,
Paul

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2017, 08:22:20 PM »
Sure, change the command to:

bash $HOME/public_html/BOmap/animate.txt

animate.txt is a bash script, not a PHP script :)

Also, change animate.txt to have the correct home directory, and

chmod +x animate.txt

in the public_html/BOmap directory.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2017, 08:41:20 PM »
Hi Ken,
I have changed the one path but not sure on the other
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash
# generic bash script for gen-BO-maps.php.  K. True - saratoga-weather.org
# Version 1.00 - 18-Apr-2015 - initial release
#
# --- begin settings
# set HDIR to full file path to BOmaps directory on your website
# HDIR=/home/content/96/5379896/html/BOmaps
HDIR=/public_html/BOmaps
# set PHPcmd to full path to PHP V5+ on your host
PHPcmd=/web/cgi-bin/php5

# --- end settings
#
cd $HDIR
$PHPcmd -q gen-BO-maps.php > status.txt 2>&1
#

Paul

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2017, 08:46:32 PM »
The important two settings are:

HDIR=/home/psoykkrhjuz3/public_html/BOmaps

and

PHPcmd=/web/cgi-bin/php5

I use the PHPcmd as above on my GoDaddy cPanel account.  The HDIR setting must be the FULL path from the root of the filesystem on the server.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2017, 09:49:43 PM »
Hi Ken,
It doesn't appear that I am making progress on BOmaps.  Is it safe to delete the cache in BOmaps?
Can the animate.txt be run from another external cron service instead of GoDaddy and would that just be animate.txt?

Thanks,
Paul

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2017, 10:15:24 PM »
Sorry to be a bother Ken during my webserver update.  Checking everything out and finding a few dead links and...
The www.komokaweather.ca dashboard data seems to be up to date, however the data status http://www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca/wxstatus.php shows the Cumulus data to be way out of date.  Looking at the time it is a different format, month/day compared to the realtime.txt which is day/month.  Could that also be a cPanel difference in some date settings?

Thanks again,
Paul


Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2017, 11:11:55 PM »
Hi Ken,
It doesn't appear that I am making progress on BOmaps.  Is it safe to delete the cache in BOmaps?
Can the animate.txt be run from another external cron service instead of GoDaddy and would that just be animate.txt?

Thanks,
Paul
You wouldn't be able to run a bash script via an external cron service.  I wouldn't recommend clearing the cache just yet.

Try:

bash "$HOME/public_html/BOmap/animate.txt"

as the command, and put your email address in the cPanel cron page so you'll see what the 'complaint' is for your script not running.

Sorry to be a bother Ken during my webserver update.  Checking everything out and finding a few dead links and...
The www.komokaweather.ca dashboard data seems to be up to date, however the data status http://www.komokaweather.com/komokaweather-ca/wxstatus.php shows the Cumulus data to be way out of date.  Looking at the time it is a different format, month/day compared to the realtime.txt which is day/month.  Could that also be a cPanel difference in some date settings?

Thanks again,
Paul
Yes, that could be difference in the Settings.php $SITE['timeFormat'] between the two sites.
The cPanel date setting just sets the timezone for the server, but you already need to do that in Settings.php $SITE['tz'] so the site uses that timezone.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #15 on: December 07, 2017, 04:22:01 PM »
One last thing.. the animate.txt file has to be using only NEW-LINE characters in it.  If you used Notepad, it's possible that the file now has Windows line endings (CR,NL) and not *nix line endings (NL).

Use Notepad++ to edit it, do a extended find/replace for \r\n and replace with \n, then upload the file.

bash hates Windows line endings...
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #16 on: December 07, 2017, 09:54:32 PM »
Thanks Ken,
Just getting back at this this evening. 
Opening animate.txt, which was the one downloaded yesterday from the old webserver, in notepad++ it had [CR][LF] at the end of each line.  I then took the original animate.txt from your May 22, 2015 Map Creator v1.03 and the end of line shows [LF] only so have that uploaded now.

I notice a current date/time status.txt file in webserver and updated at each 5 min interval so looks like I have Cron set up correctly now, and opening that status.txt it says:
/home/psoykkrhjuz3/public_html/BOmaps/animate.txt: line 16: /web/cgi-bin/php5: No such file or directory

animate.txt is:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash
# generic bash script for gen-BO-maps.php.  K. True - saratoga-weather.org
# Version 1.00 - 18-Apr-2015 - initial release
#
# --- begin settings
# set HDIR to full file path to BOmaps directory on your website
# HDIR=/home/content/96/5379896/html/BOmaps
HDIR=/home/psoykkrhjuz3/public_html/BOmaps

# set PHPcmd to full path to PHP V5+ on your host
PHPcmd=/web/cgi-bin/php5

# --- end settings
#
cd $HDIR
$PHPcmd -q gen-BO-maps.php > status.txt 2>&1
#
and line 16 is:
$PHPcmd -q gen-BO-maps.php > status.txt 2>&1

Does that help to troubleshoot?

Regards,
Paul


Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #17 on: December 07, 2017, 10:16:37 PM »
Yep.. it appears that the PHP command is not at /web/cgi-bin/php5

So, you have to find the location for Command-line PHP on your server (not an easy task, usually)

You might try this script
Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
</head>

<body>
<pre>
<?php
$thepath 
exec('whereis php',$output);
print_r($output);
?>

</pre>
</body>
</html>
and see what that reveals.
Good job on changing the line endings.. now the script will execute (at least).
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #18 on: December 07, 2017, 10:35:23 PM »
That script now exists http://www.komokaweather.com/BOmaps/test_animate.php and outputs:
Quote
Array ( 
  • => php: /usr/bin/php /usr/lib/php.ini /usr/local/bin/php /usr/local/lib/php /usr/local/lib/php.ini /usr/local/lib/php.ini,v /usr/local/php )[/size][/pre]


Unfortunately I don't understand how I should change animate.txt from that.

Thanks,
Paul

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #19 on: December 08, 2017, 12:14:58 AM »
I'd change the one line
Code: [Select]
PHPcmd=/web/cgi-bin/php5 to
Code: [Select]
PHPcmd=/usr/local/bin/php (using Notepad++) and give that a try.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3699
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Template not showing after upgrade to cPanel - GoDaddy - RESOLVED
« Reply #20 on: December 08, 2017, 09:36:50 AM »
Thank you Ken, looks like we (you) have gotten it.  The cron is running and the maps are being updated.  All looks good this morning.

Very much appreciated,
Paul

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Template not showing after upgarde to cPanel - GoDaddy
« Reply #21 on: December 08, 2017, 09:51:45 AM »
You're very welcome, Paul!

Bash scripting is most unforgiving and hosters seem to put common stuff (like PHP) in different places.  Glad it's all sorted out now.

Best regards,
Ken
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP