Author Topic: No WeatherLink graphs  (Read 1027 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
    • Beamsville Weather Station
No WeatherLink graphs
« on: February 06, 2018, 10:53:39 AM »
I recently updated to the latest version of Windows 10 and now my WeatherLink graphs are not being created. I am using version 6.0.3.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline SnowHiker

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2018, 03:06:04 PM »
I recently updated to the latest version of Windows 10 and now my WeatherLink graphs are not being created. I am using version 6.0.3.
Is there any data there such as Browse Data ("Window" > "Browse" on your toolbar, or Ctrl+W)?

If not, what do you see when you go to "File" > "Open Station", is your station there?  If not maybe you'll have to select "Import Data Base Files" and point it to where your data is stored, and then maybe try Open Station again.

I think the default location for the WL files is C:\WeatherLink\ Your Station Name, so that's one place to check.

If that doesn't work maybe someone else has some ideas like checking for odd files that may be corrupt or something, but I hope it doesn't go that far.

Offline johnd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2820
    • www.weatherstations.co.uk
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2018, 03:32:05 PM »
If not maybe you'll have to select "Import Data Base Files" and point it to where your data is stored, and then maybe try Open Station again.

No, that's not relevant and will probably only give an error. The OP needs to provide more information - 'now my WeatherLink graphs are not being created' doesn't give much of a clue as to what might be amiss. eg which WL graphs and where - locally, on a remote server or what? What, if anything, IS working in WL. ...etc
Prodata Weather Systems
Prodata's dedicated Davis EnviroMonitor website
UK Davis Premier Dealer - All Davis stations, accessories and spares
Littleport, Ely, Cambs UK

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2018, 05:42:03 PM »
Hi Guys: My WeatherLink graphs were being created locally and stored at C:\WeatherLink\Beamsvil\Images\Profile1. I then used Fling to automatically scan this folder and upload the graphs to my webhost's server.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3460
    • http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=KFLBELLE2
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2018, 07:00:22 PM »
Ann-Marie when did this start?
Just guessing  but I bet one of your WLK files got corrupted.
If you research when it started and browse those files you might find the error.
A starting point at least.

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2018, 07:16:30 PM »
Is there a way to view the .wlk files properly?
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline dalecoy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6278
    • Lee's Summit, MO
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2018, 09:40:02 PM »
Is there a way to view the .wlk files properly?

Just asking - is WeatherLink running?  (started automatically or ???)

First - does WeatherLink work properly, when you open it, display current weather, etc. etc.?

Now - for the .wlk files  (First things to look at)
1. Are there any file names that are "unusual"?  (future dates, etc. etc.)
2. Are there any file sizes that are "unusual"?
« Last Edit: February 06, 2018, 09:42:18 PM by dalecoy »

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2018, 10:09:48 PM »
Yes, WeatherLink starts automatically (using StartWatch), and all looks good when it's running. No unusual files names at all, and wlk file sizes are all around 3000 kb. Going to call it a night, will look at this with fresh eyes tomorrow. Thanks for your help, everyone. One more thing, the graphs stopped updating on January 23, 2018 @ 2:40 pm.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline dalecoy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6278
    • Lee's Summit, MO
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2018, 09:00:34 AM »
One more thing, the graphs stopped updating on January 23, 2018 @ 2:40 pm.

When did you upgrade to Windows 10?

Offline chief-david

  • Educational Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2187
  • Space Academy for Educators
    • Robbinsdale Middle School Weather
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2018, 09:59:38 AM »
I had a time when one of my folders was labeled 2055.  I was able to shut off WL, and delete the folder. All good from there.

extreme case.
If that does not work. Shut everything down. Unplug and remove batteries from the console. Remove the data logger.
Wait 10 minutes.
Hook up everything.
Had to do that early in the process.
Vantage Pro Plus 6163
Robbinsdale, MN 55422@ 45 degrees North Latitude.

You can't phase me-I teach Middle School.
It's not you-It's WU.

Offline weathergirl

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2018, 11:26:30 AM »
My computer updated to the Fall Creator's Update on January 27, 2018. I've notice that when I click on Plot or Strip Charts, WeatherLink stops working and has to restart. I'm thinking reinstall or compatibility issue, possibly?
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline johnd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2820
    • www.weatherstations.co.uk
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2018, 11:55:31 AM »
So are you saying that Bulletin is working OK, but it's when you try to access archive data (using Plot or Strip Charts) that WL crashes? If so you've either got a corrupt monthly data file or you need to delete DataLists.dat and DataSets.dat . See:

https://www.manula.com/manuals/pws/davis-kb/1/en/topic/detailed-troubleshooting

Skip reinstalling etc, that's very likely a waste of time.
Prodata Weather Systems
Prodata's dedicated Davis EnviroMonitor website
UK Davis Premier Dealer - All Davis stations, accessories and spares
Littleport, Ely, Cambs UK

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4074
    • KomokaWeather
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2018, 05:31:19 PM »
Hi Ann-Marie,
Sorry to hear of your difficulty.  I am still on Windows 8 so sometime in the future I may also get problems.  Not sure if jruys' WLKReader would be helpful on possible corrupt data but here is link to it https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=10144.msg291063#msg291063

Good luck,
Paul

Offline Xavier56

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: No WeatherLink graphs
« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2018, 02:41:24 PM »
I am having the Exact same issue with Cannot Open Graphs and after a Recent Windows 10 Update.

The Weatherlink Software Crashes and then sends to Windows looking for a fix

Did anyone find the solution??

 

anything