Author Topic: Vantage Pro - Wind Speed...  (Read 4299 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris188

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Vantage Pro - Wind Speed...
« on: February 12, 2012, 06:09:29 AM »
Hi,

I've installed a new Davis Vantage Pro and all is working fine.
But one thing looks not completly ok for me.

The Wind Speed in the strip chart will update ca. all 6 to 9 seconds.
On the console there are more updates (every 2,5 sec) of the wind speed an it seems that vws only get every second update.

is there something to change in the software?

thanks for answers.
greetings
chris from austria

Offline mmorris

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 749
  • Hope your day is full of sunshine
    • Weather and Racin
Re: Vantage Pro - Wind Speed...
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2012, 06:43:57 AM »
If you want to watch the wind in more real time on the computer you have to use the WeatherLink Software as weatherlink doesn't use the dll file to get it wind data VWS you can turn the cpu resources to high might help (but on my old machine it just kill everything else that is running)
>>Miles<<  By from Portage Lakes, OH.
Been using VWS since 1996 Ver# 14.01P43
Wireless Vantage Pro2Plus Serial Data Logger, Anemo Tran Kit
Win XP, Firefox, WXSIM, Cumulus, NexStorm, Yawcam, VVP, BadBlue Web server, Quake Catcher Net
Follow me on twitter
Vietnam era Veteran USAF bb loader
Quadruple Bypass survivor

Offline chris188

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Vantage Pro - Wind Speed...
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2012, 12:13:26 PM »
hmmmm...
setting up the cpu didn't change anything.

sorry but i do not want to change the software to weatherlink or anything else.
maybe there is a solution in the future - for now i have to accept this... :(

Offline Andy Thompson

  • Southern Minnesota Live Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 371
  • Madelia and Thompson Farms
    • Southern Minnesota Live Weather
Re: Vantage Pro - Wind Speed...
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2012, 12:12:08 PM »
Ah ha! I when I was first learning about how these programs work, I had this exact same question. Now I would be more that willing to help you!
Are you using only VWS for monitoring the weather? If so, I can show you a way to get VWS to update almost simultaneously with the console. 
Regards,
Andy Thompson
www.somnwx.com



Offline chris188

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Vantage Pro - Wind Speed...
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2012, 12:42:09 PM »
Oh sound good!
I use VWS to monitor the Weather and send the jpg's to my ftp server.
And I also take every month the data2.csv to make a month review.

Also I use Weather Flash and Email Alerts if something happens.

What do I have to do?

Thanks for your help!   :grin:
Chris

Offline Andy Thompson

  • Southern Minnesota Live Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 371
  • Madelia and Thompson Farms
    • Southern Minnesota Live Weather
Re: Vantage Pro - Wind Speed...
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2012, 01:26:09 PM »
That is what my setup used to be. Now I use about 6 different programs to do stuff. I will start you out with the basics first. But to get started, may I ask what is the operating system on your computer?
Regards,
Andy Thompson
www.somnwx.com



Offline chris188

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Vantage Pro - Wind Speed...
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2012, 01:50:58 PM »
Windows 7, SP1, 32bit


Offline Andy Thompson

  • Southern Minnesota Live Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 371
  • Madelia and Thompson Farms
    • Southern Minnesota Live Weather
Re: Vantage Pro - Wind Speed...
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2012, 12:02:14 PM »
But I see we have a slight technical problem, the software I wanted you to download is called Virtual VP. The guy who wrote the software made it not available to download it off of his site temporarily. So I guess for now we are out of luck until he puts it back up.
Regards,
Andy Thompson
www.somnwx.com



Offline chris188

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Vantage Pro - Wind Speed...
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2012, 01:50:48 PM »
Oh...  :-(, maybe it fits later.
I would appreciate it.

Greetings from Austria,
Chris

 

anything