Author Topic: Earthhour  (Read 5438 times)

Offline Axelvold

• Forecaster
    • Axelvold's weather and photo
Earthhour
« on: March 27, 2010, 03:20:29 PM »
Don't forget this.

http://www.earthhour.org/
Lars Magnusson
Axelvold / Sweden
55° 57' 41" N / 13° 6' 1" E
WX Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus

Offline Downlinerz2

• Forecaster
Re: Earthhour
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2010, 06:11:22 PM »
Lars,
  Thanks for posting this info.  I am an amateur astronomer and I want people to turn off the lights but also to make sure that the ones that are on only shine their light on the ground.  Not in the sky.  There is a group called the International Dark Sky Association. You can check out their website for further information.  If we all stopped illuminating the night sky,and, kept the light on the ground, we could save millions and millions of dollars, and, save a ton of energy. Check them out.
  http://www.darksky.org

Offline W3DRM

• Forecaster
    • Emmett Weather
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2010, 11:12:21 PM »
...snip snip...If we all stopped illuminating the night sky,and, kept the light on the ground, we could save millions and millions of dollars, and, save a ton of energy...snip snip...

And if my neighbor would only get rid of his driveway lights (six 100 watt) bulbs, I might be able to sleep at night...  ](*,)

He laughs when I talk about the International Dark Sky Association. That is a great group and has lots of information on how to responsibly provide outside nighttime lighting that won't bother your neighbor or diminish the nighttime sky views.

As you can tell, this is a sore spot with me. We live in an area where there are no street lights and just love to sit out and watch the stars and night sky, especially in the summer with next to no light pollution (most of the time).

Don - W3DRM - Emmett, Idaho --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KBOI7
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37s150,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, Win10 Pro