Author Topic: Potential New User Questions  (Read 1404 times)

Offline Steve2q

Potential New User Questions
« on: May 17, 2016, 01:52:55 PM »
Hello all. I have had the Blitzortung web site linked to my weather station site for quite some time, and now I am thinking of setting up a receiving station (Blue). I am a ham radio operator (N2QLQ), and I have some questions that the answers may make or break my going ahead.

1. This is a question for other hams: from my reading the forums, it seems like the two different antennas are relatively insensitive to frequencies > 1.8MHz. Is this true? Is one type better than the other in this regard? My HF antenna (I run < 100 watts) is a "stealth" dipole in the attic.

2. I live in a "antenna restricted" development. If I choose to use the antenna that is mounted outside, how large is it? I did get permission to put up my weather station components, so I can just say that the antenna is part of it and has always been there!  :twisted:

Thanks, Steve

Offline Cutty Sark Sailor

• WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
    • Frankfort Weather - TwinHollies WeatherCenter
Re: Potential New User Questions
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2016, 10:16:41 PM »
E field probe... my two systems use a 35mm and 15mm respectively. A metal pop bottle cap will work fine.
H field: My Red uses 2 homewound  300mm x 7.5mm ferrites @ 90°. Blue development 3 DELTA (60°) 250mm X 7.5 mm ferrites..
Operators use every imaginable kind of loop, from 12" Balls, to 5 Feet coax loop, Mobius, etc... Antennas are unturned.
Our spectrum of interest is generally 3-30lHZ where most impulse energy resides...
BLUE Systems have "functional" bandwidth up to ± 300kHz, filter restrictions are in preamps, and amplifiers...(BLUE has optional electronic filters) not necessarily 'antenna design'... in addition to trigger settings etc... just don't want antennas that induce long delay times.