Author Topic: Anti-Virus Revealed  (Read 1356 times)

Offline Randall Kayfes

• Weather - Photography - Astronomy - Computer Admin
  • Forecaster
    • Arizona Kaymann
Anti-Virus Revealed
« on: June 27, 2014, 01:30:56 PM »
I know what people are thinking MS knows all the tricks to their own software.
However, in October of 2013 even MS admitted they were producing a far inferior product and recommended people make a different choice. Look at the lab results in the tables below and check out this article.

http://www.howtogeek.com/173291/goodbye-microsoft-security-essentials-microsoft-now-recommends-you-use-a-third-party-antivirus/

This is not just about MSE though.

As a Computer Systems Administrator I will tell you a dirty little not so secret secret.
The only difference between Paid and Free AV is the feature set like a cumbersome Firewall,
and sometimes the lack of ads (however, this alone may be worth the price of admission to some).
The AV algorithms are exactly the same for Paid and Free.
Think to yourself why would they be any different.
If the free version is to convince you to pay for it.
Why would they let you sample a lemon...
Why would they spend the time and resources on two different algorithms...
Why would they commit to two different servers and update cycles...
Etc...

Now all AV's are tested regularly by independent labs (http://www.av-comparatives.org/detection-test/) and Here are the detection rates for March 2014:
Notice the Lab does not indicate free vs. paid because the results are exactly the same.

1. Kaspersky Lab 99.8%
2. F-Secure, eScan, Baidu (en), Fortinet 99.6%
3. Emsisoft, Bitdefender, Lavasoft, Kingsoft², BullGuard, Qihoo (en) 99.5%
4. McAfee, Panda 99.3%
5. AVIRA, Tencent 99.2%
6. Trend Micro 99.0%
7. ThreatTrack Vipre 98.9%
8. ESET 98.8%
9. Sophos 98.3%
10. Avast 97.7%
11. AVG 97.5%
12. Microsoft 90.0%

Now September 2013:

1. AVIRA, G DATA, F-Secure  99.7%
2. McAfee, Panda  99.6%
3. Kaspersky, BitDefender, Emisoft  99.5%