Author Topic: $1000 for set up  (Read 26631 times)

Offline prkguy

$1000 for set up
« on: June 15, 2009, 11:11:35 PM »
Im very new to the world of weather stations.   I manage a state park and I have been working on improving our severe weather emergency program.   One of the things I had thought would be nice to eventually have would be a basic weather station.   Well it appears that there may a local grant source for me.  Lets say I had $1000 to purchase a weather station and I needed to have the ability to have the current weather readings linked to a website and also have the data archived.    Could someone recommend a basic weather station and any add ons I would need?      I hear talk of data loggers and various software that would be needed to make this happen but I feel lost.   One of the systems I was looking at was the Davis 6152 wireless.   Any help you can provide would be appreciated.  Thanks.   Mike

Offline offroadjosh

• Davis Vp2 Wireless- VWS 14 P90 Serial Data logger
  • Forecaster
  • Montana Firefighter
    • My Website=)
Re: $1000 for set up
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2009, 11:33:00 PM »
i think that this(below) would be the perfect set up for right at your 1000$$ mark. (i am going wireless since im guessing thats what you want)

6163(top of the line) $807.95
http://www.ambientweather.com/61dawivaprop3.html

basic 6152  $396.95

http://www.ambientweather.com/61dawivaprow.html

then software Weatherlink-comes with the data logger dont need the software but its a freebie, serial or usb(serial is what is best). and VWS internet(really good software)

118.95+90=208.95
http://www.ambientweather.com/dain65sewefo.html

Josh
Josh Patten

Davis VP2 Wireless -May 2008
VWS 14.00P90\WL 5.9.9/Plus others!
Skywarn trained
CoCoRaHS member
Smith Valley Fire Dept Firefighter:)
http://josh.northwestwx.com/station/usa.htm
CWOP-DW0711
Kestrel 2000 hand held anemometer
Cocorahs 4in rain gauge
Custom co

Offline Bushman

• Forecaster
    • Eagle Bay Weather