Author Topic: USPLN Sensor Request  (Read 10460 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WeatherHost

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2757
Re: USPLN Sensor Request
« Reply #225 on: July 17, 2017, 06:31:09 AM »
Raises a question of power usage if they're getting that hot.

Banners, tags, widgets, etc. are why I have Signatures turned off.

Offline n2qew

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 47
Re: USPLN Sensor Request
« Reply #226 on: July 18, 2017, 11:44:13 AM »
It burns .6 amps at 12 volts or 7.2 watts. 173 watt-hours a day. -7 days per kWh. 5.2 kWh a month, so roughly US $0.53 a month depending on rates.

Offline DaleReid

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
    • Weather at Eau Claire, WI
Re: USPLN Sensor Request
« Reply #227 on: July 18, 2017, 02:53:33 PM »
A question for users who are set up with them:

I've been online for a couple months and had quite a few storms move over me or close by during that time.  Not once has the little alert thing ever showed that strikes were nearby on the report thing.  they show up on the Google Earth Maps, but on on the alert.  Does the alert work for anyone?

I've emailed and they corrected an error in my location, supposedly, but it still doesn't work.  I see the correct lattitude, but the longitude is  at -91 and they say the display of the field is truncated but set correctly in their software.

Oh well, I don't depend on it anyway but would just be nice if it did work.

Dale
ECWx.info
&
ECWx.info/wx/index.php

Offline miraculon

  • Sunrise Side Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2817
  • KE8DAF
    • Sunrise Side Weather in Rogers City MI USA
Re: USPLN Sensor Request
« Reply #228 on: July 18, 2017, 03:10:36 PM »
It works for me. I get a rather annoying alarm bell sound when it goes off.

Greg H.




Blitzortung Stations 668, 706 - CWOP CW4114 -  CoCoRaHS MI-PI-1

Offline DaleReid

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1154
    • Weather at Eau Claire, WI
Re: USPLN Sensor Request
« Reply #229 on: July 18, 2017, 03:23:11 PM »
Then it must be configuration at their place.  I was wondering if as 'mere' equipment site hosts we weren't entitled to that, not that I use it but would be one more fun piece of info to know.  I'll bug them later once again to see if they can advise.

thanks Mike.
ECWx.info
&
ECWx.info/wx/index.php

Offline WeatherHost

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2757
Re: USPLN Sensor Request
« Reply #230 on: July 18, 2017, 07:24:45 PM »
I get the dinger too.  Remember, it's only within that small circle.

 
Banners, tags, widgets, etc. are why I have Signatures turned off.

Offline DW7240

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 157
    • The Vicarage Weather Feed
Re: USPLN Sensor Request
« Reply #231 on: July 19, 2017, 12:55:05 PM »
Hi,

I too get the alarm bell, thought the house was on fire, LOL, then realised it was the TOA/Google Earth software sounding a bell because of strikes within the alarm zone - yes that's the important point, just because you can hear thunder does not mean that the storm is within your zone.  As I recall, the zone size is small, it's like 10km all around, so unless the storm is very close or overhead, the alarm won't sound.  Just as well really, it could get pretty annoying otherwise.

Nick. dw7240.com.


Offline BeaverMeadow

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: USPLN Sensor Request
« Reply #232 on: July 19, 2017, 02:05:41 PM »
unless the storm is very close or overhead, the alarm won't sound.  Just as well really, it could get pretty annoying otherwise.
Nick. dw7240.com.

The local tv/radio meteorologists around here are always saying that if you can hear thunder you can get hit by lightning. I have always had a hard time believing that. I guess their philosophy is "better safe than sorry".

Offline WeatherHost

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2757
Re: USPLN Sensor Request
« Reply #233 on: July 19, 2017, 02:09:06 PM »
Sounds like an old telephone, which is the type of ring tone on my cell phone.  So when the TOA alarm sounds, I find myself reaching for my cell phone.



Banners, tags, widgets, etc. are why I have Signatures turned off.

Offline hankster

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 391
    • NFM Weather
Re: USPLN Sensor Request
« Reply #234 on: Yesterday at 06:29:11 PM »
I know a few have said they are having high CPU usage when running GE. Yesterday as I watched a storm develop right overhead I thought about this and checked my CPU usage. I'm using a late-2008 MacBokk Pro with a 2.8Ghz Core 2 Duo, 8GB memory and an SSD.

This screen grab was taken while GE was updating. I was currently zoomed out a bit to see if there were any other thunderstorms close by. This storm was giving me 120+ strokes in 10 minutes within the alert zone.

The screen grabs shows 14.2% CPU, it normally runs 8-10% if it's not updating. Also including a screen grab of the the fun we had last evening. I'm not sure if GE uses more CPU on a Windows machine or the reason others are seeing high CPU utilization.

 

anything