Author Topic: UK member weather station recommendations  (Read 2212 times)

Offline mattpitts74

UK member weather station recommendations
« on: October 14, 2019, 03:10:30 AM »
Hi all,

I’ve been researching weather stations on and off for many years.  I’ve dabbled with adding various sensors to raspberry pi’s. I’ve finally realised that I don’t have the patience or technical skills to built something accurate enough for my needs.

I’d like to monitor weather partly for growing vegetables purposes, partly to drive various automation projects and so I can share data to the UK met office WOW website.

My research obviously bought me to the Davies weather stations and in a dream world I’d purchase the vp 2 but my funds don’t quite stretch that far.  it seems hard to find much between its either cheap or really expensive when it comes to weather stations.

Lots of people here seem to rate the Ambient stations, but these don’t seem to be readily available in the UK. Or must be under other Brands? This seems to be the nearest I can find in the UK. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Profi-weather-station-Froggit-WH3000/dp/B06X6JPJ6Q

Is anyone able to enlighten me as to whether this is a rebranded ambient station?

So I’m wondering if there are any UK members of this forum that can help me with recommendations for the UK Other than the above options?

« Last Edit: October 14, 2019, 03:25:19 AM by mattpitts74 »

Offline LAdrain

Re: UK member weather station recommendations
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2019, 03:17:52 PM »
Gone has the good old days when Maplin would sell the Fine Offset for £50 about twice a year on offer.

Davis are expensive but very good quality, but you need to buy a module to link it to your Computer/Network on top of the basic unit.  This is the option I have gone with to replace my old system  The Davis Vantage VUE was about £350 and then £40 for the USB link.