Author Topic: Newbie looking for an easy short cut  (Read 468 times)

Offline kabong57

Newbie looking for an easy short cut
« on: July 09, 2019, 02:09:13 PM »
I am new to this sight and personal weather stations in general.  Just installed a Davis Vantage Pro 2 wireless with WiFi logger and am connected to a router served by fiber optic service. This is located at our farm 15 miles from our residence.  At this time I am not as interested in public sharing of the information as I am in being able to access it remotely. Both from mobile devices (smart phone / tablet) and from my home and work computers. I made it through the first 300 out of 1200 posts in this forum about WiFi logger and am in way over my head. Is there a basic / simple set-up I may start with that will get me going till I have more time to advance ?     WiFi Weather for Dummies ?     steve

Offline galfert

• Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
Re: Newbie looking for an easy short cut
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2019, 02:22:29 PM »
Just set up the WiFiLogger to upload data to any of the weather services that it supports...that is easy. Need help...just ask which service you need help with. Need help choosing then start with WU. You said you aren't interested in public sharing of your weather data...but you are interested in remote access to your data. Well when you share it publicly then you gain remote access to the weather data. What does it exactly mean that you aren't interested in public sharing of the data...does that mean you are totally against it? If so then what you can do is set up a computer on that network and enable some sort of remote access to it. There are many remote access solutions. I like Team Viewer and it is easy to set up. But if that remote access is something you want on a mobile device then Team Viewer is not the most elegant solution. We really need to know more about your needs and how you want to use that data.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge on Raspberry Pi