Author Topic: I need help chosing a weather station for a RC flying field  (Read 5124 times)

Offline Devil_Inside

I need help chosing a weather station for a RC flying field
« on: April 27, 2011, 10:40:05 AM »
Hi guys,

I belong to a RC flying club in Massachusetts and I am trying to gather information for a weather station solution for our field. Let me start by saying that I am a complete newbie when it comes to weather station hardware and I don't even know where to begin, but at least I can give you a quick description of what we are trying to accomplish. We are mostly interested in measuring wind speed, including gusts, and wind direction. Everything else like temperature, humidity, precipitation, etc would be icing on the cake - if the weather station can do it great, otherwise we probably wouldn't want to spend the extra money to buy additional sensors. The field does not have any power facilities so an alternative power supply, like a solar panel, is a must. Unfortunately we also do not have a WiFi Internet connection so I guess we would have to use some sort of a cellular modem. Last, but not least, we would like to be able to "interface" the data from the weather station to our club's website or create a dedicated web site for it. Here is a link to another club's weather station as an example:

http://cvawx.info/airfield.html

Unfortunately their model costs several thousands of dollars and that is something that we simply cannot afford. As a non-profit organization we have very little money leftover in the budget after covering all the expenses for the maintenance of the field, so whatever solution we chose has to be affordable. Unfortunately we've recently had several cases of vandalism, including a single occurrence of people discharging firearms at our signs and benches, which is the other reason why we cannot risk hanging an expensive weather station.

If you can at least point me in the correct direction to get me started that would be great!