Author Topic: wxstatus missing radar status window  (Read 1161 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jgillett

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • Boltek, Win7 Pro, ToA
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
wxstatus missing radar status window
« on: March 04, 2018, 12:39:46 PM »
Yesterday my http://tiggrweather.net/wxstatus.php page dropped the yellow radar status box that used to appear in the middle of the file listings (even when status was active as it is now). Everything else seems to be showing. I think all my files are up to date.

Thoughts appreciated.
John
W7JKG

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9257
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: wxstatus missing radar status window
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2018, 03:11:25 PM »
Strange.  I do view-source:http://tiggrweather.net/radar-status.php?cache=1&nexrad=KIWA&show=active and see
Quote
<!-- radar-status.php V1.15 - 22-Feb-2017 -->
<!-- loading ./radar-status.txt from http://radar3pub.ncep.noaa.gov/rcvxmit.sites.public.html -->
<!-- curl fetching 'http://radar3pub.ncep.noaa.gov/rcvxmit.sites.public.html' -->
<!-- HTTP stats:  RC=200 dest=140.172.138.16 port=80 (from sce=208.131.135.7)
      Times: dns=0.125 conn=0.144 pxfer=0.144 get=0.041 total=0.185 secs -->
<!-- appending ./radar-status.txt from http://radar3pub.ncep.noaa.gov/ftm.txt -->
<!-- curl fetching 'http://radar3pub.ncep.noaa.gov/ftm.txt' -->
<!-- HTTP stats:  RC=200 dest=140.172.138.16 port=80 (from sce=208.131.135.7)
      Times: dns=0.000 conn=0.019 pxfer=0.019 get=0.022 total=0.041 secs -->
<!-- cache written to ./radar-status.txt. -->
<!-- 203 records found -->
<!--
UTCdate    =1520193783 (2018-03-04 08:03:03)
lastUTCdate=1520193485 (2018-03-04 07:58:05)
 -->
<div style="border: dashed 1px black; background-color:#FFFFCC; margin: 5px; padding: 0 5px;">
<p>NEXRAD Radar KIWA status: <span style="background-color: #33FF33; padding: 0 5px;">Active</span> [last data 0:04:58 h:m:s ago]<br />as of Sun 04 Mar 2018 1303 MST</p>
<p><small><a href="http://radar3pub.ncep.noaa.gov/">NWS WSR-88D Transmit/Receive Status</a></small></p>
</div>
which looks normal to me.

The default for radar-status.php is to NOT display a box if the NEXRAD radar is 'Active', so the box won't be displayed below the GR3Radar check in that case.  If you want it displayed, insert in Settings.php
Code: [Select]
$SITE['showradarstatus'] = true; and that will force the script to always display the box.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline jgillett

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • Boltek, Win7 Pro, ToA
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
Re: wxstatus missing radar status window
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2018, 07:09:50 PM »
That's really weird, Ken. Have made no changes at all that would affect this. The active box has been there forever (not that I miss seeing it gone). PSR had a down time message up on 1 March, expiring on 1 March. Their messages always remain for a few days even after the expiration date/time. When the message finally went away the active message never returned.

Thank you.
John
W7JKG

Offline lstrip

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: wxstatus missing radar status window
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2018, 08:52:20 PM »
John
Could you tell me how you add Hardware status to you wxstatus.php?
Thanks
Larry

vancamweather.com

Offline jgillett

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • Boltek, Win7 Pro, ToA
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
Re: wxstatus missing radar status window
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2018, 12:43:35 AM »
Could you tell me how you add Hardware status to you wxstatus.php?
Larry, here's the code that I use...

Code: [Select]
<?php print "<hr/><p align=\"center\"><b>Hardware Status</b><br/>\n";
print 
"Vantage Pro2+ ISS Battery Status: <b>$vpissstatus</b><br/>\n";
print 
"ISS Packet Reception: <b>$vpreception2</b> of all packets received<br/>\n";
print 
"Console Battery Voltage: <b>$vpconsolebattery</b> volts<br/>\n";
print 
"<a href='http://strikestarus.com/StrikeStarUS_Stats.html' target='_blank'>NexStorm Network Status</a>: <b>$percent&nbsp;&nbsp;$reliability</b><br/>\n";
print 
"</p><hr/>";
?>

John
W7JKG

Offline lstrip

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: wxstatus missing radar status window
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2018, 05:22:07 PM »
Thanks John
Can you explain where that would be inserted into wxstatus.php?
I tried and get server error.
Thanks

Offline jgillett

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • Boltek, Win7 Pro, ToA
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
Re: wxstatus missing radar status window
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2018, 08:20:59 PM »
Can you explain where that would be inserted into wxstatus.php?
Basically it can go pretty much wherever you want. Here's where it is on my page (line numbers not mentioned because yours and mine may be different)...
Code: [Select]
<a href="http://radar3pub.ncep.noaa.gov/" target="_blank">US Radar Sites Status</a><br />

<?php print "<hr/><p align=\"center\"><b>Hardware Status</b><br/>\n";
print 
"Vantage Pro2+ ISS Battery Status: <b>$vpissstatus</b><br/>\n";
print 
"ISS Packet Reception: <b>$vpreception2</b> of all packets received<br/>\n";
print 
"Console Battery Voltage: <b>$vpconsolebattery</b> volts<br/>\n";
print 
"<a href='http://strikestarus.com/StrikeStarUS_Stats.html' target='_blank'>NexStorm Network Status</a>: <b>$percent&nbsp;&nbsp;$reliability</b><br/>\n";
print 
"</p><hr/>";
?>

  <p align="center"><b>*NOTE:</b> StormVue NGX Updates are activity dependent. When lightning strikes within detector range are sparse, uploads are much less frequent and will often show as '<span style="color: red"><b>NOT Current</b></span>'.</p>
  </center></div>
  <?php } else { // software not defined yet ?>
  <p>&nbsp;</p>
  <p>Weather Software not yet specified .. no status to report.</p>
  <p>&nbsp;</p>
  <p>&nbsp;</p>
  <p>&nbsp;</p>
  <?php // end software not defined ?>


</div><!-- end main-copy -->
</center>
<?php
############################################################################
include("footer.php");
############################################################################
# End of Page
############################################################################
?>
So this is within the main div and just above the footer.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2018, 08:25:43 PM by jgillett »
John
W7JKG

Offline lstrip

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: wxstatus missing radar status window
« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2018, 07:32:35 PM »
John
Thanks for your help.
Finally got it working by inserting at the top of page.
Everytime I put it below the wd status, I would get a server error.
Thanks again
Larry
http://www.vancamweather.com/wxstatus.php

Offline jgillett

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • Boltek, Win7 Pro, ToA
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
Re: wxstatus missing radar status window
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2018, 07:36:39 PM »
Attach your script here.
John
W7JKG

 

anything