Author Topic: options for wireless windows 7 based weather tracking  (Read 3582 times)

Offline jerelo

options for wireless windows 7 based weather tracking
« on: October 04, 2009, 01:50:27 PM »
I'm just beginning to research my options for building a weather station, and I'd like to ask for some comment by people who have experience with the range of systems available.
I am a hobbyist with good computer skills, and I'd like to monitor conditions in the front and back yard of my property. I have a current PC and a wireless N router, so was hoping to find a set of weather sensors that would use this protocol. I would also like to use a PC application to track and review readings. This seems to rule out most of the systems I've browsed, which use their own console. I don't want to invest in a console, just wireless capable sensors and an application to review the data. It would be great to be able to add on sensors later (so a system of independent sensors would be preferred) but for now I want to monitor temperature, solar radiation, humidity, rainfall. Optionally I would be interested in wind speed and direction, barometric pressure. Eventually I also want to hook up some remote webcams to view animals on the property, and although that is probably a seperate topic, it might tie into other capabilities like motion sensors.

Naturally I'm interested in lowest cost, but I value customer support, a history of upgrading software, and modular software design (capable of integrating new sensors) as well.

Let me know what comes to mind!

Offline Downlinerz2

• Forecaster
Re: options for wireless windows 7 based weather tracking
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2009, 02:00:01 PM »
Jerelo,
   I cannot help with your question but I wanted to welcome you to the forum!  I am sure there are more than a few people who will be able to answer your question. 
Good Luck,
    Mark

Offline mmorris

• Forecaster
  • Hope your day is full of sunshine
    • Weather and Racin