Author Topic: WeatherLink USB connected to wireless adapter?  (Read 2801 times)

Offline rpreichard

WeatherLink USB connected to wireless adapter?
« on: May 16, 2010, 12:28:22 PM »
My Vantage Vue console is in a spot where I have neither a computer or Cat5 cabling.  Has anyone connected a wireless adapter to either the USB or Serial unit for data gathering?  What about WeatherLinkIP using a Cat5 to wireless adapter.  Any other options that I might have available to me?  I want to gather the data and push to a website and would prefer 15 minute or less updates.  I'm new to this and looking for some best practices in lieu of reinventing the wheel.

Offline dalecoy

• Forecaster
    • Lee's Summit, MO
Re: WeatherLink USB connected to wireless adapter?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2010, 01:59:24 PM »
There are lots of alternatives, and I'm sure that many of them will be suggested here.

But, in my opinion, there are only two "practical" things to trade off:

A.  Run wiring.  Either Cat5 from the console to your router, or serial from the console to a computer. 

B.  Buy an additional Vue console (list roughly $130) to locate either near your router or near your computer.

For many people, B is the choice.

Other alternatives, in my opinion, add complexity without saving appreciable amounts of money.

Offline Vermonter

• Andy
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2010, 03:34:25 PM »
My Vue with Weatherlink IP is in a difficult place for hardwired ethernet; I'm not a big fan of powerline ethernet but I got a couple of the units cheap on eBay (used) and since there's not a lot of high speed data, they work just fine.
Andy
Davis Vantage Vue
WeatherLink 5.9.2
 CWOP: DW4518
WU:    KVTWILDE2

Offline SLOweather

• Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
    • Weatherelement Moline IL
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2010, 11:38:45 PM »